Woman Who Left, The

Woman-who-left-

Ang Babaeng Humayo

DIRECTOR(S): Lav Diaz   COUNTRY: Philippines   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Tagalog   SUBTITLES: English, German   RUNNING TIME: 228 min  

SCREENINGS

Sunday, 01.10., 11:30 a.m., kommkino

SECTION: Wettbewerb, Open Eyes

After winning the Nuremberg International Human Rights Film Award four years ago with his adaptation of Dostoyevsky's “Crime and Punishment” NORTE, Lav Diaz is back in competition with another award-winning literary adaptation, THE WOMAN WHO LEFT, which won the Golden Lion at the Venice film festival last year. Based on a short story by Tolstoy, the film is about a woman who seeks revenge against her former lover after spending decades in jail and finds unexpected support from the outcasts of society.  
1997: Horacia has been in jail for murder for 30 years. Then new evidence comes to light, proving her innocence. She is free but broken after decades behind bars. The real murderer – her former lover – is wealthier than ever and lives in a high-security residential complex, in whose shadows Horacia meets different creatures of the night, including a transsexual prostitute, a homeless person plagued by demons and a hunchbacked egg trader. She becomes a generous friend while she patiently waits for the moment to wage her revenge. Lav Diaz has succeeded in making a visually stunning, archaic and deeply human drama about guilt and solidarity, absolution and revenge.

LAV DIAZ
Lav Diaz was born in Cotabato, the Philippines in 1958. He first studied business, but then transferred to the Mowelfund Film Institute in Manila. Starting out as a novelist and screenwriter, he directed several shorts and documentaries before making his first feature film. His second feature Naked under the moon was screened at the Berlinale Forum in 2000. With Norte – The End of History, Diaz won the International Competition at NIHRFF 2013. His five and a half hour opus From What is Before (NIHRFF 2015) won the Golden Leopard at Locarno in 2014. For The Woman Who Left he won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival in 2016.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Lav Diaz   PRODUCER: Ronald Arguelles, Lav Diaz, Sine Olivia Pilipinas   CAMERA: Lav Diaz   EDITOR: Lav Diaz   MUSIC:    CAST: Charo Santos-Concio, John Lloyd Cruz, Michael De Mesa, Nonie Buencamino

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Sine Olivia Pilipinas   WORLD SALES: Valeska Neu, Films Boutique   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Woman Who Left, The

Ang Babaeng Humayo

REGIE: Lav Diaz   LAND: Philippinen   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Tagalog   UNTERTITEL: Englisch, Deutsch   LÄNGE: 228 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Sonntag, 01.10., 11.30 Uhr, kommkino

SEKTION: Wettbewerb, Open Eyes

Nachdem Lav Diaz vor vier Jahren mit NORTE, seiner Verfilmung von Dostojewskijs „Schuld und Sühne“, den Nürnberger Filmpreis der Menschenrechte gewann, ist er diesmal mit einer weiteren preisgekrönten Literaturverfilmung zurück im Wettbewerb: THE WOMAN WHO LEFT gewann im vergangenen Jahr den Goldenen Löwen bei den Filmfestspielen in Venedig. Basierend auf einer Kurzgeschichte von Tolstoi erzählt Lav Diaz diesmal von einer Frau, die, nachdem sie jahrzehntelang unschuldig im Gefängnis saß, auf Rache sinnt und bei den Ausgestoßenen der Gesellschaft unverhofft Unterstützung findet.
1997: Horacia sitzt seit 30 Jahren wegen Mordes im Gefängnis. Dann tauchen neue Beweise für ihre Unschuld auf – und für die Schuld ihres reichen Liebhabers aus Jugendtagen. Horacia ist wieder eine freie Frau, doch die Jahrzehnte hinter Gittern haben ihr alles genommen. Der eigentliche Mörder lebt noch wohlhabender als zuvor in einer Hochsicherheitswohnanlage, in deren Schatten Horacia unterschiedliche Nachtgestalten kennenlernt: eine transsexuelle Prostituierte, eine von Dämonen geplagte Obdachlose und einen buckligen Eierverkäufer. Während sie ihnen eine großherzige Freundin wird, wartet Horacia geduldig auf ihre Gelegenheit zur Rache. Lav Diaz gelingt ein visuell überwältigendes, archaisches und tief menschliches Drama über Schuld und Solidarität, Absolution und Rache.

LAV DIAZ

Lav Diaz wurde 1958 in Cotabato, Mindanao (Philippinen), geboren. Er studierte zunächst Wirtschaftswissenschaften, wechselte dann an das Mowelfund-Filminstitut in Manila. Seine Karriere begann er als Schriftsteller und Drehbuchautor. Er drehte mehrere Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme, bevor sein erster abendfüllender Spielfilm entstand. Mit seinem zweiten Spielfilm Naked Under the Moon (2000) war er im Programm des Forums der Berlinale. Mit Norte – The End of History gewann er den Internationalen Wettbewerb bei NIHRFF 2013. Sein fünfeinhalbstündiges Opus From What is Before (NIHFF 2015) wurde 2014 in Locarno mit dem Goldenen Leoparden ausgezeichnet. Für The Woman Who Left gewann er 2016 den Goldenen Löwen bei den Filmfestspielen in Venedig.

FILMOGRAFIE

Naked Under the Moon (2000), Batang West Side (2002), Evolution of a Filipino Family (2005), Heremias, Book One (2006), Death in the Land of Encantos (2007), Melancholia (2008), Florentina Hubaldo (2012), Norte – The End of History (2013), From What is Before (2014), The Woman Who Left (2016)

DREHBUCH: Lav Diaz   PRODUZENT_IN: Ronald Arguelles, Lav Diaz, Sine Olivia Pilipinas   KAMERA: Lav Diaz   SCHNITT: Lav Diaz   MUSIK:    MIT: Charo Santos-Concio, John Lloyd Cruz, Michael De Mesa, Nonie Buencamino

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Sine Olivia Pilipinas   WELTVERTRIEB: Valeska Neu, Films Boutique   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: