Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves

Those Who Make A Revolution Halfway

Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau

DIRECTOR(S): Mathieu Denis, Simon Lavoie   COUNTRY: Canada   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: French   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 183 min  

SCREENINGS
Tuesday, 03.10., 5:00 p.m., kommkino, Q&A with Mathieu Denis

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Different picture sizes, blocks of text, and cuts to news channels, documentary footage and re-enacted scenes: This feature uses all the registers of avant-garde filmmaking, but still manages to be a gripping film about the meanderings (and errings) of radical protest forms. Inspired by the student demos of 2012 in Canada – that triggered the “Maple Spring” – the directors use the language of radical cinema to paint a tense, depressing and profoundly ambivalent picture of radicalism.  
The film follows four radical left-wing activists who employ vandalism and terror to foment an uprising against capitalism, succeeding both in making their anger understandable but also in questioning their methods and goals.
“In the opening sequence, four twentysomethings, under cover of darkness, deface a row of commercial billboards to read, “People do not see yet that they are miserable. We will show them.” Working under the aliases Klas Batalo (Gabrielle Tremblay), Ordinne Nuovo (Emmanuelle Lussier-Martinez), Tumulto (Laurent Belanger), and Guitizia (Charlotte Aubin), they form their own underground commune to do just that, all while maintaining a brutally austere lifestyle in line with their values. Living collectively off the cash Batalo earns as a transgender prostitute, they barely have enough money for food, much less a political operation, but their anger and desperation breeds a surprising resourcefulness.” (Variety, Scott Tobias)

MATHIEU DENIS, SIMON LAVOIE
Mathieu Denis was born in Montréal, Canada in 1977. He studied cinema at the Université du Québec in Montréal. Denis first began working as an editor before turning to writing and directing in 2006. His short films Le Silence nous fera écho and Code 13 were screened at numerous festivals around the world. He co-wrote and co-directed his first feature Laurentie with Simon Lavoie. Laurentie premiered at Karlovy Vary and won awards at many international festivals. His feature film Corbo was shown at the Berlinale in 2015.
Simon Lavoie was born in Charlevoix, Canada in 1979. He studied film at the Université du Québec in Montréal. After making several short and medium-length films, he wrote and directed his debut feature film Le Déserteur in 2008. His film Le Torrent, a poetic adaptation of a work by the Canadian writer Anne Hébert, premiered at the Festival du nouveau cinéma in Montréal. This was followed by two collaborations with Mathieu Denis: Laurentie and Those Who Make Revolutions Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Simon Lavoie, Mathieu Denis   PRODUCER: Hany Oichou   CAMERA: Nicolas Canniccioni   EDITOR: Mathieu Denis   MUSIC:    CAST: Charlotte Aubin (Giutizia), Laurent Bélanger (Tumulto), Emmanuelle Lussier Martinez (Ordine Nuovo), Gabrielle Tremblay (Klas Batalo)

WEBSITE
http://www.artetessai.ca/revolutions

PRODUCTION: Art & Essai   WORLD SALES: Lison Hervé, Stray Dogs   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves

Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n'ont fait que se creuser un tombeau

REGIE: Mathieu Denis, Simon Lavoie   LAND: Kanada   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Französisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 183 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Dienstag, 03.10., 17.00 Uhr, kommkino in Anwesenheit von Mathieu Denis

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Variierende Bildgrößen, Textblöcke, Cuts zu Nachrichtensendungen, dokumentarische  Aufnahmen und gespielte Szenen: Dieser Spielfilm zieht alle Register avantgardistischer Filmtradition und schafft es, ein spannender Film über die (Irr-)wege radikaler Protestformen zu sein. Inspiriert von den Studentendemonstrationen des sogenannten „Maple Spring“ (2012) in Kanada, benutzen die Regisseure die Sprache des radikalen Kinos, um ein angespanntes, bedrückendes und zutiefst ambivalentes Bild des Radikalismus zu zeichnen.
Der Film folgt vier linksradikalen Aktivisten, die mit Vandalismus und Terror versuchen einen Aufstand gegen den Kapitalismus anzufachen, und schafft es, sowohl ihren Zorn verständlich zu machen, als auch ihre Methoden und Zielsetzungen nachdrücklich zu hinterfragen. In der Eingangssequenz des Films verunstalten vier Aufständische – alle in den Zwanzigern – im Schutz der Dunkelheit Werbeplakate mit den Sätzen: „Die Menschen sehen noch nicht, dass sie unglücklich sind. Wir werden es ihnen zeigen.” Die vier bilden eine eigene Untergrundzelle, um genau solche Protestaktionen durchzuführen und leben währenddessen, ganz ihren Wertvorstellungen entsprechend, ein extrem asketisches Dasein. Das Geld, das Batalo als transgender Prostituierte für die ganze Gruppe verdient, reicht kaum für Essen, geschweige denn, für ein politisch motiviertes Vorhaben. Aber ihre Wut und Verzweiflung schaffen überraschenden Einfallsreichtum.

MATHIEU DENIS, SIMON LAVOIE
Mathieu Denis wurde 1977 in Montréal, Kanada geboren. Nach einem Filmstudium an der Université du Québec in Montréal arbeitete er zunächst als Cutter, bevor er ab 2006 begann als Autor und Regisseur auch eigene Filme zu realisieren. Seine Kurzfilme Le Silence nous fera écho und Code 13 liefen weltweit auf zahlreichen Festivals. Zusammen mit Simon Lavoie drehte er seinen ersten Langspielfilm Laurentie, der beim Filmfest in Karlovy Vary uraufgeführt und mehrfach auf internationalen Festivals ausgezeichnet wurde. Mit Corbo war er 2015 Gast der Berlinale.
Simon Lavoie wurde 1979 in Charlevoix, Kanada geboren. Er absolvierte ein Filmstudium an der Université du Québec in Montréal. Nach diversen kurzen und mittellangen Filmen legte der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor 2008 mit Le Déserteur sein Spielfilmdebüt vor. Le Torrent, die poetische Adaption eines Werks der kanadischen Schriftstellerin Anne Hébert, feierte auf dem Festival du nouveau cinéma in Montreal Premiere. Nach Laurentie ist Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n’ont fait que se creuser un tombeau seine zweite Zusammenarbeit mit Mathieu Denis.

FILMOGRAFIE
Mathieu Denis: Laurentie (2011), Corbo (2014), Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves (2016).
Simon Lavoie: Le Déserteur (2008), Laurentie (2011), Le Torrent (2012), Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves (2016).

DREHBUCH: Simon Lavoie, Mathieu Denis   PRODUZENT_IN: Hany Oichou   KAMERA: Nicolas Canniccioni   SCHNITT: Mathieu Denis   MUSIK:    MIT: Charlotte Aubin (Giutizia), Laurent Bélanger (Tumulto), Emmanuelle Lussier Martinez (Ordine Nuovo), Gabrielle Tremblay (Klas Batalo)

WEBSITE
http://www.artetessai.ca/revolutions

PRODUKTION: Art & Essai   WELTVERTRIEB: Lison Hervé, Stray Dogs   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: