Swarm Season

Swarm Season

DIRECTOR(S): Sarah J. Christman   COUNTRY: United States   YEAR: 2019   LANGUAGES: English   SUBTITLES: German, English   RUNNING TIME: 85 min  

SCREENINGS

Thursday, 03.10., 11.00 am, kinoeins
Sunday, 06.10., 5.00 pm, kinoeins, Q&A with Sarah J. Christman (Skype)

SECTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

On the remote volcanic island of Hawaii, 10-year-old Manu and her mother collect wild, endangered bees in order to breed disease-resistant colonies. Her father is protesting on the sacred mountain Mauna Kea against the establishment of a gigantic telescope. On a neighboring mountain, six NASA scientists practice living on Mars, and under the ground and the water, the Kilauea volcano quivers fatefully.
The scientific view of the world and the cosmology of the indigenous people are both components of Sarah Christman's feature debut. With an artist's eye for details and plenty of time for amazement, SWARM SEASON draws fascinating parallels between the micro- and macrocosm, and challenges our understanding of nature, the world and ourselves. The form is sensory, impressionistic and free, with space for our own interpretations, while also razor-sharp, when Christman observes the bees, their necessary swarming and the intricate engineering of their hives as a prism to look at all life around us. If honey bees – one of the most robust and cooperative species on this planet – are threatened with extinction, what future does humanity have on Earth?

SARAH J. CHRISTMAN

Sarah Christman makes films that explore the intersections between people, technology and the natural world. Her work has screened widely, including International Film Festival Rotterdam, Toronto Film Festival, New York Film Festival, MoMA Documentary Fortnight and the Los Angeles Film Forum. She received the New Visions Award from the San Francisco International Film Festival for her debut film Dear Bill Gates and Jury Awards from the Ann Arbor Film Festival for Broad Channel and As Above, So Below. She teaches at the Film Department of Brooklyn College and the Feirstein Graduate School of Cinema / CUNY. Swarm Season is her first feature-length film.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Sarah J. Christman   CAMERA: Zara Popovici   EDITOR: Sarah J. Christman   MUSIC: Cool For You   CAST:

WEBSITE
http://www.swarmseason.com

PRODUCTION: Propolis Pictures   WORLD SALES:    GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Swarm Season

Swarm Season

REGIE: Sarah J. Christman   LAND: Vereinigte Staaten   JAHR: 2019   SPRACHE(N): Englisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch, Englisch   LĂ„NGE: 85 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Donnerstag, 03.10., 11.00 Uhr, kinoeins
Sonntag, 06.10., 17.00 Uhr, kinoeins, in Anwesenheit von Sarah J. Christman

SEKTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

Auf der abgelegenen Vulkaninsel Hawaii sammeln die 10-jährige Manu und ihre Mutter gefährdete Wildbienen, um krankheitsresistente Kolonien zu züchten. Gleichzeitig protestiert ihr Vater auf dem heiligen Berg Mauna Kea gegen die Errichtung eines weiteren gigantischen Teleskops.  Sechs NASA-Wissenschaftler proben derweil auf einem benachbarten Berg das Überleben auf dem Mars. Unter dem Meer grummelt der Vulkan Kilauea schicksalhaft. Es braucht nicht viele Worte in Sarah Christmans wunderbarem Essay um zu verstehen, auf welch dünnem Ast die Menschheit sitzt – und mit welcher Gewalt sie an ihm sägt.

Wissenschaftliche Analyse und die Weltanschauungen indigener Völker bilden das Rückgrat von Sarah Christmans beeindruckendem Debütfilm. Voller Liebe zum Detail lässt SWARM SEASON viel Zeit zum Staunen. Dabei zieht Christman faszinierende Parallelen zwischen Mikro- und Makrokosmos und fordert unser Verständnis von Natur, Welt und uns selbst heraus. Ihre fast impressionistische Bild- und Toncollage lässt immer wieder Raum für eigene Interpretationen und ist doch messerscharf in ihrer Analyse. Voller Bewunderung beobachtet Christman die Bienen, ihre sozialen Strukturen und die komplizierte Technik der Bienenstöcke. So werden die Bienen zum Prisma, über das Christman alles Leben um uns herum betrachtet. Denn wenn die Honigbiene – eine der robustesten und kooperativsten Arten auf diesem Planeten – vom Aussterben bedroht ist, welche Zukunft hat dann der Mensch auf der Erde? Und warum plant er bereits seinen Exit statt sich um die bedrohte Natur der Gegenwart zu kümmern?

https://vimeo.com/318928932

SARAH J. CHRISTMAN

Sarah Christman dreht Filme, die die Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch, Technik und Natur untersuchen. Ihre Arbeiten wurden schon auf etlichen Festivals gezeigt, so z.B. dem Film Festival Rotterdam, dem Toronto Film Festival, New York Film Festival, MoMa Documentary Fortnight und dem Los Angeles Film Forum. Christman wurde mit dem New Visions Award des San Francisco International Film Festival für ihren Debütkurzfilm Dear Bill Gates ausgezeichnet und gewann die Jury Awards des Ann Arbor Film Festivals für Broad Channel sowie As Above, So Below. Sie unterrichtet an der Fakultät für Film am Brooklyn College und der Feirstein Graduate School of Cinema/ CUNY. Swarm Season ist ihr erster abednfüllender Film.

FILMOGRAFIE

Dear Bill Gates (2007), Broad Channel (2010), As Above, So Below (2012), Gowanus Canal (2013), 7285 (2015), Swarm Season (2019)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Sarah J. Christman   KAMERA: Zara Popovici   SCHNITT: Sarah J. Christman   MUSIK: Cool For You   MIT:

WEBSITE
http://www.swarmseason.com

PRODUKTION: Propolis Pictures   WELTVERTRIEB:    DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: