Nile Hilton Incident, The

Nile Hilton Affäre

Nile Hilton Incident, The

DIRECTOR(S): Tarik Saleh   COUNTRY: Sweden, Germany, Denmark   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: Arabic   SUBTITLES: German   RUNNING TIME: 110 min

SCREENINGS

Thursday, 28.09., 8:00 p.m., Cinecittà

SECTION: Cinecittà

A gripping neo-noir thriller from Egypt. The police agent Noredin is sent to investigate a case that is closed before he can even begin. The death of a famous singer in the luxury Nile Hilton hotel in Cairo is declared a suicide even though an eyewitness has a different view and the scene of the crime points to another conclusion. Noredin starts to dig deeper – fascinated by the beauty of the late singer and driven by an inexplicable sense of justice. He refuses to be a small cog in a corrupt system any longer.
Talek Saleh masterfully employs the conventions of neo-noir cinema to create a work that also has a political dimension. Noredin’s investigation takes him to the highest echelons of a country that is in a deep crisis. In 2011, the demonstrations on Tahrir Square gain in intensity. The revolution and the overthrowing of President Hosni Mubarak get closer.

TARIK SALEH
Tarik Saleh was born in Stockholm in 1972 and started his career as a graffiti artist. He produced the hit video for the song “I Follow Rivers“ by Lykke Li and co-directed doc GIitmo (2009) about the torture methods at Abu Ghraib and Guantanamo Bay. His darkly mysterious animated film Metropia won the Future Film Festival Digital Award at Venice 2009.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Tarik Saleh   PRODUCER: Kristina Åberg   CAMERA: Pierre Aïm   EDITOR: Theis Schmidt   MUSIC: Krister Linder   CAST: Fares Fares, Mari Malek, Yaser Aly Maher

WEBSITE
https://atmo.se/

PRODUCTION: Claritta Kratochwil, Ostlicht Filmproduktion, Atmo Media Network Ab   WORLD SALES: The Match Factory GmbH   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Port au Prince Film & Kultur Produktion GmbH

Nile Hilton Affäre, Die

Nile Hilton Incident, The

REGIE: Tarik Saleh   LAND: Schweden, Deutschland, Dänemark   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Arabisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 110 min

VORSTELLUNGEN

Donnerstag, 28.09., 20.00 Uhr, Cinecittà

 

SEKTION: Cinecittà

Ein fesselnder Neo-Noir-Krimi aus Ägypten: Der Polizeibeamte Noredin wird auf einen Fall angesetzt, welcher schon ad acta gelegt wird, bevor er überhaupt begonnen hat. Eine berühmte Sängerin wird tot im luxuriösen Hotel Nile Hilton aufgefunden. Ohne lange zu fackeln wird der Fall als Selbstmord deklariert – obwohl eine Zeugin und der Tatort eine völlig andere Sprache sprechen. Fasziniert von der schönen Toten und von einem unerklärlichen Gerechtigkeitssinn getrieben, macht sich Noredin auf die Suche nach Antworten und bricht aus seiner Rolle als kleines Rad im Getriebe eines korrupten Systems aus.
Regisseur Talek Saleh bedient sich nicht nur meisterhaft der Genrekonventionen des Neo-Noir-Films, sondern verleiht seinem Werk auch eine politische Dimension. Noredins Ermittlungen führen ihn bis in die höchsten Regierungskreise eines sich in einer tiefen Krise befindlichen Landes. Während Noredin im Jahre 2011 auf Spurensuche geht, werden die Unruhen auf dem Tahir-Platz immer lauter, die Revolution und die Absetzung des ägyptischen Präsidenten Mubarak rücken immer näher.

TARIK SALEH
Tarik Saleh kam 1972 in Stockholm auf die Welt und begann seine Karriere als Graffiti-Künstler. Er produzierte das immens erfolgreiche Musikvideo zu „I Follow Rivers“ von Lykke Li und war Co-Regisseur des Dokumentarfilms Gitmo (2009) über die Folterpraktiken in Abu Ghraib und die Verhörmethoden in Guantanamo. Sein unheimlich-mysteriöser Animationsfilm Metropia wurde 2009 beim Festival von Venedig ausgezeichnet.

FILMOGRAFIE
Sacrificio – Who betrayed Che Guevara? (2001), Gitmo – The New Rules of War (2005), Metropia (2009), Tommy (2014), The Nile Hilton Incident (2017)

DREHBUCH: Tarik Saleh   PRODUZENT_IN: Kristina Åberg   KAMERA: Pierre Aïm   SCHNITT: Theis Schmidt   MUSIK: Krister Linder   MIT: Fares Fares, Mari Malek, Yaser Aly Maher

WEBSITE
https://atmo.se/

PRODUKTION: Claritta Kratochwil, Ostlicht Filmproduktion, Atmo Media Network Ab   WELTVERTRIEB: The Match Factory GmbH   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Port au Prince Film & Kultur Produktion GmbH