Kindil el Bahr

Kindil El Bahr

Kindil el Bahr

DIRECTOR(S): Damien Ounouri   COUNTRY: Algeria, Kuwait, United States   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Arabic, Aleut   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 40 min  

SCREENINGS
Thursday, 28.09., 9:00 p.m., kinoeins, Q&A with Damien Ounouri
Saturday, 30.09., 10:15p.m., kommkino

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Feminist fantasy films are thin on the ground. This angry feature from Algeria is, therefore, all the more surprising. Its exploration of legendary female monsters and violence against women could appeal to fantasy fans and feminists alike.
Nfissa is a young mother. One day, she goes to the beach without her husband. She goes into the water alone to cool down. She is harassed and eventually murdered by a group of unknown men. Nobody seems to notice anything. The husband is grief-stricken but the police imply Nfissa was somehow culpable. Suddenly, there are mysterious deaths in the sea. Kindil El Bahr, the deadly jellyfish woman, seems to have returned to a wage revenge on Nfissa's murderers… 

DAMIEN OUNOURI
Damien Ounouri is a Franco-Algerian director based in Algiers. He studied film at the Sorbonne Nouvelle University, while developing his cinema practice in an autodidact way. His graduate film project on Chinese filmmaker Jia Zhang-Ke, Xiao Jia Going Home, was selected for several international film festivals. His first feature film, documentary Fidaï was screened at the Toronto International Film Festival, before travelling the world and receiving several awards. In 2013 Fidaï was selected for the International Competition in Nuremberg. Damien Ounouri is also a tutor, conducting cinema workshops. He is also one of the artists contributing a trailer to NIHRFF 10.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Adila Bendimerad, Damien Ounouri   PRODUCER: El Hadi Bouabdallah, Talal Al-Muhanna, Amin Bengana, Karim Bengana, Amina Castaing, Thomas Castaing, Nathalie Fedrizzi, Amin Mentseur   CAMERA: Mohamed Tayeb Laggoune   EDITOR: Damien Ounouri, Adila Bendimerad, Matthieu Laclau   MUSIC: Fethi Nadjem, Cheb Khaled, Zahouania , Safy Boutella   CAST: Adila Bendimerad, Nabil Asli, Souad Sebki, Aziz Boukerouni, Jawad Ayachi, Jawhara Ayachi

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Bang Bang Production, Linked Productions, Monumental, Mediacorp   WORLD SALES: L’Agence du court métrage   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Kindil el Bahr

Kindil el Bahr

REGIE: Damien Ounouri   LAND: Algerien, Kuwait, Vereinigte Staaten   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Arabisch, Aleutisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 40 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Donnerstag, 28.09., 21.00 Uhr, kinoeins in Anwesenheit von Damien Ounouri
Samstag, 30.09., 22.15 Uhr, kommkino

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Feministische Fantasyfilme sind ja eher rar gesät – umso überraschender ist daher dieser fulminante Spielfilm aus Algerien, der alte Legenden von weiblichen Monstern geschickt mit dem Thema Gewalt gegen Frauen verwebt und so Feminist*innen wie Genre-Fans gleichermaßen in seinen Bann zieht.
Die junge Mutter Nfissa ist ohne ihren Mann an einem heißen Sommertag am Strand. Sie möchte nur einmal die sinnliche Kühle des Meeres spüren und geht alleine ins Wasser. Schnell wird sie von unbekannten Männern bedrängt, belästigt und schließlich ertränkt. Am Strand will niemand etwas gesehen haben, der Ehemann ist untröstlich, der Kommissar unterstellt ihr schnell ein schuldhaftes Verhalten. Nfissa bleibt verschwunden, doch plötzlich kommt es zu mysteriösen Todesfällen im Meer. Die mystische und tödliche Quallenfrau Kindil El Bahr scheint zurück zu sein und nimmt tödliche Rache an Nfissas Mördern…

DAMIEN OUNOURI
Damien Ounouri ist ein französisch-algerischer Regisseur. Er hat Film an der Sorbonne Nouvelle Universität studiert. Gleichzeitig hat er sich autodidaktisch die Fähigkeit Filme zu drehen angeeignet. Sein Abschlussfilm über den chinesischen Regisseur Jia Zhang-Ke wurde für verschiedene Filmfestivals ausgewählt. Sein erster Dokumentarfilm Fidaï feierte seine Premiere beim Filmfestival in Toronto und lief 2013 im NIHRFF-Wettbewerb. Damien Ounouri ist auch als Tutor in Kino-Workshops tätig und engagiert sich für die unabhängige algerische Filmszene. 2017 zeichnet Damien Ounouri für einen der NIHRFF-Festivaltrailer verantwortlich.

FILMOGRAFIE
Xiao Jia Going Home (2008), Fidaï (2012), Kindil el Bahr (2016)

DREHBUCH: Adila Bendimerad, Damien Ounouri   PRODUZENT_IN: El Hadi Bouabdallah, Talal Al-Muhanna, Amin Bengana, Karim Bengana, Amina Castaing, Thomas Castaing, Nathalie Fedrizzi, Amin Mentseur   KAMERA: Mohamed Tayeb Laggoune   SCHNITT: Damien Ounouri, Adila Bendimerad, Matthieu Laclau   MUSIK: Fethi Nadjem, Cheb Khaled, Zahouania , Safy Boutella   MIT: Adila Bendimerad, Nabil Asli, Souad Sebki, Aziz Boukerouni, Jawad Ayachi, Jawhara Ayachi

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Bang Bang Production, Linked Productions, Monumental, Mediacorp   WELTVERTRIEB: L’Agence du court métrage   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: