Frenzy

Abluka

Abluka

DIRECTOR(S): Emin Alper   COUNTRY: Turkey, France   YEAR: 2015   LANGUAGES: Turkish   SUBTITLES: German   RUNNING TIME: 119 min  

SCREENINGS

Thursday, 28.09., 8:30 p.m., Festsaal
Friday, 29.09., 4:16 p.m., kommkino

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Istanbul is in the grip of political violence. Hamza, a high-ranking police officer offers Kadir a conditional release from prison. To be released he has to accept to work in the new intelligence unit of garbage collectors. Kadir accepts, and starts collecting trash from the shanty towns, checking to see whether it contains material related to bomb-making. Kadir finds his younger brother Ahmet in one of those neighborhoods. Ahmet works at the municipality as part of a team responsible for destroying stray dogs. Ahmet’s unwillingness to bond with Kadir as brothers, in spite of Kadir’s insistance, lead Kadir to plot conspiracy theories to explain Ahmet’s distance.

EMIN ALPER
Emin Alper, director and scriptwriter, was born in 1974 in Konya, Turkey. He studied economics and history in Instanbul. His first fiction film Beyond the Hill premiered at the Berlinale Festival in 2012 and won the Berlinale Caligari award, followed by over 20 other awards at several international festivals, including the main prize at the international filmfestival in Instanbul and Ankara. Alper's second film Frenzy received an invitation to the competition for the golden lion at the Venice Film Festival. Frenzy won the jury's special award and the Premio Arca CinemaGiovani for the best film in the competition.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Emin Alper   PRODUCER: Nadir Operli, Enis Köstepen, Cem Doruk   CAMERA: Adam Jandrup   EDITOR: Osman Bayraktaroğlu   MUSIC: Cevdet Erek   CAST: Mehmet Özgür, Berkay Ates, Tülin Özen, Müfit Kayacan, Ozan Akbaba

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Liman Film, Paprika Films, Insignia Yapim   WORLD SALES: Thania Dimitrakopoulou, The Match Factory GmbH   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Grandfilm

Abluka – Jeder misstraut Jedem

Abluka

REGIE: Emin Alper   LAND: Türkei, Frankreich   JAHR: 2015   SPRACHE(N): Türkisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 119 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Donnerstag, 28.09., 20.30 Uhr, Festsaal
Freitag, 29.09., 16.15 Uhr, kommkino

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Zum Glück werden Science Fiction-Filme nur selten von der Realität eingeholt. Im Fall von Emin Alpers verstörendem und vielfach preisgekröntem Polit-Thriller ist dies leider der Fall: Die Geschichte von Bespitzelung, Misstrauen, Terror und staatlicher Gewalt erscheint aktuell weniger dystopisch als realistisch.
Istanbul versinkt im Chaos. Bewaffnete Gruppen haben die Kontrolle über die ärmeren Stadtteile gewonnen. Die Polizei ist machtlos. Kadir wird vorzeitig aus der Haft entlassen und soll als Informant arbeiten. Er überprüft den Müll auf Sprengsätze und die Straßen auf verdächtige Subjekte. Doch als Erstes sucht er seinen jüngeren Bruder Ahmet auf. Wer kann wem noch trauen? Eine Momentaufnahme aus der nahenden Endzeit – von höchster Intensität und Aktualität. Bei den Filmfestspielen von Venedig wurde ABLUKA dafür mit dem Spezialpreis der Jury ausgezeichnet.

EMIN ALPER
Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Emin Alper wurde 1974 in Konya, der Türkei geboren. Er studierte Wirtschafts- und Geschichtswissenschaft an der Istanbuler Boğaziçi Üniversitesi. Sein erster Spielfilm Beyond the Hill wurde 2012 im Forum der 62. Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Berlin uraufgeführt und gewann den Caligari Filmpreis. Es folgten über 20 weitere internationale Film- und Festivalpreise, darunter die Hauptpreise auf den internationalen Filmfestivals von Istanbul und Ankara. Nach dem großen Erfolg seines Spielfilmdebüts erhielt Alper 2015 für seinen zweiten Spielfilm Abluka eine Einladung in den Wettbewerb um den Goldenen Löwen der 72. Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Venedig. Abluka gewann den Spezialpreis der Jury sowie den Premio Arca Cinema Giovani für den besten Film im Wettbewerb.

FILMOGRAFIE
Mektup (2005), Rıfat (2006), Beyond the Hill (2012), Abluka (2015)

DREHBUCH: Emin Alper   PRODUZENT_IN: Nadir Operli, Enis Köstepen, Cem Doruk   KAMERA: Adam Jandrup   SCHNITT: Osman Bayraktaroğlu   MUSIK: Cevdet Erek   MIT: Mehmet Özgür, Berkay Ates, Tülin Özen, Müfit Kayacan, Ozan Akbaba

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Liman Film, Paprika Films, Insignia Yapim   WELTVERTRIEB: Thania Dimitrakopoulou, The Match Factory GmbH   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Grandfilm