Dusk Chorus

Dusk Chorus

Dusk Chorus

DIRECTOR(S): Nika Šaravanja, Alessandro D'Emilia   COUNTRY: Italy   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Italian, English, Spanish   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 67 min  

SCREENINGS

Saturday, 30.09., 3:45 p.m., kinoeins
Sunday, 01.10., 7:15 p.m., kinoeins, Q&A with Nika Šaravanja

SECTION: Internationales Forum, Open Eyes

Can biodiversity be heard? What relationship does a habitat's ecological equilibrium have with its acoustic harmony? The ecological acoustician David Monacchi explores the sounds of the Ecuadorian rainforest using high-resolution 3D microphones. DUSK CHORUS is a fascinating film about his acoustic work.
The directors follow the researcher deep into the mysterious world of the jungle. First they concentrate on the wonderful flora and fauna, but slowly their focus shifts from incredible images to a spectacular listening experience. It's as if the viewers themselves are in the middle of the rainforest – they hear insects, birds, monkeys and even trees in a three-dimensional symphony of nature. This (acoustic) harmony is endangered because of the human search for natural resources in as yet untouched ecosystems. Countless species are at risk and the sound of machines – the noise of industry – is drowning out the crucial acoustic communication of an entire ecosystem, threatening its very existence.

NIKA ŠARAVANJA, ALESSANDRO D'EMILIA

Nika Šaravanja was born in 1985 in Zagreb. She studied at the Zagreb School of Economy and Management in Zagreb. Currently she is studying directing at the Zelig school of documentary filmmaking in Bolzano, Italy. Until this day her work was based mostly on photography and now she started experimenting with film, a common passion that she discovered while traveling.
Alessandro D'Emilia
was born in Rome in 1988. Life took him to live elsewhere, mainly in Misurina, Dolomites. He became soon passionate in various sports activities as skiing, climbing, high-lining. Practicing these activities he developed a strong interest in the audiovisual sector, in particular remain fascinated by the mysteries of nature and the unexplored places. He is currently studying at the Zelig school for documentary.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: David Monacchi   PRODUCER: Heidi Gronauer, Lorenzo Paccagnella   CAMERA: Alessandro D’Emilia, Nika Šaravanja   EDITOR: Otis Buri   MUSIC: Corrado Fantoni, David Monacchi   CAST: David Monacchi

WEBSITE
http://www.fragmentsofextinction.org/

PRODUCTION: Zelig School for Documentary, Television and New Media   WORLD SALES:    GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Dusk Chorus

Dusk Chorus

REGIE: Nika Šaravanja, Alessandro D'Emilia   LAND: Italien   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Italienisch, Englisch, Spanisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 67 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Samstag, 30.09., 15:45 Uhr, kinoeins
Sonntag, 01.10., 19.15 Uhr, kinoeins in Anwesenheit von Nika Šaravanja

SEKTION: Internationales Forum, Open Eyes

Kann man Artenvielfalt hören? Und in welchem Verhältnis steht das ökologische Gleichgewicht eines Lebensraums zu seiner akustischen Harmonie? Der Öko-Akustiker David Monacchi erschließt den ecuadorianischen Regenwald über seine Geräuschkulisse mit hochauflösenden 3D-Mikrofonen. DUSK CHORUS ist ein faszinierender Film über seine akustische Arbeit.
Die Regisseur*innen folgen dem Forscher tief in die geheimnisvolle Welt des Dschungels. Sie zeigen uns die großartige Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Langsam gehen sie dabei von den fantastischen Bildern über in ein spektakuläres Hörerlebnis: Als stünden wir selbst mitten im Regenwald lauschen wir Insekten, Vögeln, Affen und sogar Bäumen in einer dreidimensionalen Natur-Symphonie. Doch die (akustische) Harmonie ist bedroht – immer tiefer frisst sich der Mensch auf der Suche nach Bodenschätzen in das unberührte Ökosystem. Dabei wird nicht nur der Lebensraum zahlloser Arten zerstört, das Brummen der Maschinen, der sound der Industrie, übertönt auch die lebenswichtige akustische Kommunikation eines ganzen Ökosystems und weiht es so dem Untergang.

NIKA ŠARAVANJA, ALESSANDRO D'EMILIA
Nika Šaravanja wurde1985 in Zagreb geboren. Sie studierte an der Zagreb School of Economy and Management und studiert im Augenblick Regie an der Zelig Schule für Dokumentarfilm, Fernsehen und neue Medien in Bozen, Italien. Bisher arbeitete sie hauptsächlich in Bereich Fotografie, experimentiert jedoch inzwischen auch mit Film – eine Leidenschaft, die sie während des Reisens entdeckte.
Alessandro D’Emilia wurde 1988 in Rom geboren. Das Leben verschlug ihn woanders hin, hauptsächlich nach Misurina in den Dolomiten. Er begeisterte sich bald für Sportarten wie Skifahren, Klettern und High-Lining. Dabei entwickelte er großes Interesse an audiovisuellen Medien. In erster Linien faszinieren ihn die Mysterien der Natur und unerforschte Orte. Im Augenblick studiert er an der Zelig Schule für Dokumentarfilm, Fernsehen und neue Medien in Bozen, Italien.

FILMOGRAFIE
Nika Šaravanja: Ascolta I miei occhi (2014), In this state of being (2015), Dusk Chorus (2017)
Alessandro D'Emilia: Dusk Chorus (2017)

DREHBUCH: David Monacchi   PRODUZENT_IN: Heidi Gronauer, Lorenzo Paccagnella   KAMERA: Alessandro D’Emilia, Nika Šaravanja   SCHNITT: Otis Buri   MUSIK: Corrado Fantoni, David Monacchi   MIT: David Monacchi

WEBSITE
http://www.fragmentsofextinction.org/

PRODUKTION: Zelig School for Documentary, Television and New Media   WELTVERTRIEB:    DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: