Contestant, The

Concursante, El

DIRECTOR(S): Carlos Osuna   COUNTRY: Colombia   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: Spanish   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 82 min  

SCREENINGS
Friday, 04.10., 10.15 pm, kommkino
Tuesday, 08.10., 6.15 pm, kommkino

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Sometimes there are days like this in Bogota. Cristóbal’s mother drags him out of bed angrily, so that he can get hold of one of the pressure cookers a TV chef has promised viewers for a few stock-cube coupons. When Cristóbal arrives at the point of distribution, there is already an endless queue of different disadvantaged members of society. They grow closer together as they meet and the film ends as it should – with a revolt of the pressure cookers.

Representing different social strata, the people in the queue are at first suspicious of each other but soon they form a sense of unity, holding each other’s place in the queue or ganging up on those who attempt to cheat. Solidarity and friendships develop, while racism and police violence flare up and reveal the limitations of peaceful co-existence. This fast-paced film depicts a microcosm of Colombian society. In long shots, the camera takes in the queue and painting-like scenes that are full of comedy. Cristóbal is not the only character the viewer will fall for.

CARLOS OSUNA

Carlos Osuna’s  first feature film Fat, Bald, Short Man was presented on major film festivals such as San Sebastian, Chicago, BAFICI, Warsaw, La Habana, Goa, among many others. His second feature film With the Lips Closed was presented on festivals such as Stockholm Film Festival, FICCI, Brazilia International Film Festival and received the award to the best Colombian feature film granted by the Cinematheque Bogota. The Contestant, his third feature film, was premiered at the official competition of the Tallin Black Nights Film Festival and was part of the Atelier at Cannes Film Festival.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Carlos Osuna, Juan Mauricio Ruiz, Alejandro Quintero   PRODUCER: Juan Mauricio Ruiz   CAMERA: Rodrigo GarcĂ­a   EDITOR: Carlos Osuna   MUSIC: Carlos Osuna   CAST: Ronaldo Tejedor, Elena Diaz, Kissinger Miranda, Sunami Rodríguez

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Malta Cine   WORLD SALES:    GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Contestant, The

Concursante, El

REGIE: Carlos Osuna   LAND: Kolumbien   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Spanisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 82 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Freitag, 04.10., 22.15 Uhr, kommkino
Dienstag, 08.10., 18.15 Uhr, kommkino

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Es gibt einfach so Tage – selbst in Bogota. Ungehalten wirft seine Mutter den jungen Cristóbal aus dem Bett, damit er einen der Dampfkochtöpfe ergattert, die ein Fernsehkoch für ein paar Brühwürfel-Coupons versprochen hat. Doch als Cristóbal an den Ort der Ausgabe kommt, steht dort schon eine endlose Schlage. Die bunte Mischung sozial Benachteiligter wächst während der Stunden des Wartens zusammen und so endet der Film wie er enden muss, in einer Dampfkochtopfrevolte.

Bunt zusammengewürfelt aus unterschiedlichen sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Schichten sind sich die Wartenden zunächst fremd und beäugen einander misstrauisch. Doch bald formt sich eine Einheit – man hält einander den Platz frei oder geht gegen andere vor, die schummeln wollen. Kurz, Solidarität und Freundschaft entwickeln sich, während aufflackernder Rassismus und Polizeigewalt die Grenzen des friedlichen Miteinanders aufzeigen. So entwirft der temporeiche Film einen Mikrokosmos der kolumbianischen Gesellschaft. In langen Einstellungen fährt die Kamera die Schlange entlang und fängt tableauartige Szenen voller Komik ein, während einem nicht nur der junge Cristóbal ans Herz wächst.

CARLOS OSUNA

Carlos Osunas erster Spielfilm Fat, Bald, Short Man wurde auf zahlreichen großen Filmfestivals gezeigt,  z.B. in San Sebastian, Chicago, Warschau, La Habanna oder Goa. Sein zweiter Spielfilm With the Lips Closed wurde beispielsweise auf dem Stockholm Film Festival, dem FICCI und dem Brazilia International Film Festival aufgeführt und erhielt den Preis für den besten kolumbianischen Spielfilm der Cinematheque Bogota. The Contestant, Osunas dritter Spielfilm hatte seine Premiere im internationalen Wettbewerb des Tallin Black Nights Film Festivals und war Teil des Ateliers in Cannes.

FILMOGRAFIE

Gordo, Calvo y Bajito (2011), With the Lips Closed (2015), The Contestant (2017)

DREHBUCH: Carlos Osuna, Juan Mauricio Ruiz, Alejandro Quintero   PRODUZENT_IN: Juan Mauricio Ruiz   KAMERA: Rodrigo García   SCHNITT: Carlos Osuna   MUSIK: Carlos Osuna   MIT: Ronaldo Tejedor, Elena Diaz, Kissinger Miranda, Sunami Rodríguez

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Malta Cine   WELTVERTRIEB:    DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: