Clash

Clash

Eshtebak

DIRECTOR(S): Mohamed Diab   COUNTRY: Egypt, France, Germany   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Arabic   SUBTITLES: German   RUNNING TIME: 97 min  

SCREENINGS

Tuesday, 03.10., 8:00 p.m., Cinecittà

SECTION: Internationales Forum

During the riots that broke out after the arrest of President Mohamed Morsi in Egypt, a random group of prisoners in a police van clash over their political and religious views, representing opposing sides of society. Their discussion heats up, as does the situation on the streets. CLASH is a nail-biting cross between an intense and claustrophobic Kammerspiel and a tough political thriller that gives an unadorned view of a deeply shattered and divided society.
Cairo, summer 2013: a day of violent protests after the military coup against Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi. The police arrests people randomly – believers and non-believers, supporters and opponents of the Muslim Brotherhood, advocates of the military, journalists and bystanders are stuck together in a van that meanders through the city. Everyone's nerves are on edge in the unrelenting heat. Terror, violence and chaos are everywhere. There seems to be no place to escape in this disturbing tale of post-Arab Spring Egypt.

MOHAMED DIAB
Born in Ismailia, Egypt in 1978, Mohamed Diab studied filmmaking at the New York Film Academy. He works as a scriptwriter and director. Diab wrote scripts for high-profile Egyptian blockbusters including The Island which was Egypt’s official entry at the Academy Awards Foreign Film category in 2007. In 2010, he directed his feature debut 678. Clash, his second feature film, opened the section Un Certain Regard at the Cannes Film Festival in 2016.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Mohamed Diab   PRODUCER: Moez Masoud, Mohamed Hefzy, Eric Lagesse, Nicole Gerhards   CAMERA: Ahmed Gabr   EDITOR: Ahmed Hafez   MUSIC: Khaled Dagher   CAST: Nelly Karim, Hany Adel, Tarek Abdel Aziz, Ahmed Malek, Ahmed Dash

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: FILM CLINIC, Sampek Productions   WORLD SALES: Ilaria Gomarasca, Pyramide International   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Mario Raoli, missingFILMs

Clash

Eshtebak

REGIE: Mohamed Diab   LAND: Ägypten, Frankreich, Deutschland   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Arabisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 97 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Dienstag, 03.10., 20.00 Uhr, Cinecittà

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Während der Unruhen nach der Verhaftung von Staatschef Mursi prallen in einem Gefangenentransporter der Polizei die gegensätzlichen politischen und religiösen Ansichten der ägyptischen Gesellschaft aufeinander. Während die Insassen untereinander ihre Kämpfe ausfechten, spitzt sich die Lage auf den Straßen immer mehr zu. Zwischen klaustrophobisch intensivem Kammerspiel und hartem Polit-Thriller zeichnet CLASH spannungsgeladen und mit schonungsloser Nähe das Bild einer zutiefst zerrütteten und gespaltenen Gesellschaft.
Kairo im Sommer 2013: Ein Tag gewaltsamer Proteste nach dem Sturz des Präsidenten Mursi durch das Militär. In dieser aufgeheizten Stimmung werden Menschen willkürlich von der Polizei in einen Laster gepfercht, aus dem es kein Entrinnen gibt: Gläubige und Nicht-Gläubige, Befürworter und Gegner der Muslimbruderschaft, Unterstützer des Militärs, Journalisten und unbeteiligte Passanten. Die erbarmungslose Hitze und die beklemmende Enge lassen die Nerven blankliegen, während der Polizeiwagen versucht sich einen Weg durch die aufgebrachten Massen zu bahnen. Terror, Gewalt und Chaos sind allgegenwärtig, kein Ort scheint mehr sicher in dieser verstörenden Parabel auf die ägyptische Gesellschaft nach dem arabischen Frühling.

MOHAMED DIAB
Mohamed Diab wurde 1987 in Ismailia, Ägypten, geboren. Er studierte Regie an der New York Film Academy und arbeitet als Drehbuchautor und Regisseur. Diab schrieb Drehbücher für ägyptische Blockbuster wie The Island, der 2007 offiziell zum ägyptischen Kandidaten für Oscar für den Besten fremdsprachigen Film nominiert wurde. Mit 678 feierte er 2010 sein Regiedebüt. Sein zweiter Spielfilm Clash feierte 2016 seine Premiere in der Un Certain Regard-Sektion der Filmfestspiele von Cannes.

FILMOGRAFIE
678 (2010), Clash (2016)

DREHBUCH: Mohamed Diab   PRODUZENT_IN: Moez Masoud, Mohamed Hefzy, Eric Lagesse, Nicole Gerhards   KAMERA: Ahmed Gabr   SCHNITT: Ahmed Hafez   MUSIK: Khaled Dagher   MIT: Nelly Karim, Hany Adel, Tarek Abdel Aziz, Ahmed Malek, Ahmed Dash

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: FILM CLINIC, Sampek Productions   WELTVERTRIEB: Ilaria Gomarasca, Pyramide International   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Mario Raoli, missingFILMs