NIHRFF awards three cash prices and features an international jury as well as the Open Eyes Youth Jury. The award statue and medallions are specially created and made by the Nuremberg artist Chrsitan Rösler.

International Human Rights Film Award Nuremberg

Audience Award

Open Eyes Youth Jury Award

In the main competition, films compete for the International Human Rights Film Award Nuremberg.This award for outstanding filmic achievement in a human rights film will be awarded by an indepedent international jury. The award is endowed with EUR 2,500.

All films in the festival programme compete for our audience award, worth EUR 1,000.

A jury of students will chose the winner of the Open Eyes Youth Jury Award. They select the film best suited for human rights education in schools. The jury consists of Nuremberg high school students. The award is endowed with EUR 1,000 and is kindly sponsored by Stabilo International GmbH.

Previous Award Winners

International Human Rights Film Award NurembergThe Intrusion (O Estranho) Brazil/France 2023, Directors: Flora Dias, Juruna Mallon
Audience AwardLonely Oaks Germany 2023, Directors: Fabiana Fragale, Kilian Kuhlendahl, Jens Mühlhoff
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardWe Will Not Fade Away, Ukraine/France/Poland 2023, Director: Alisa Kovalenko
Special MentionPeople Can Die Twice – Short Films, Germany 2019-2022, Director: Hamze Bytyci

International Human Rights Film Award NurembergThis Is Not A Burial, It’s A ResurrectionLesotho, Italy, South Africa 2019, Director: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese
Audience AwardMr. Bachmann and His Class Germany 2021, Director: Maria Speth
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardWho Owns My Village?, Germany 2021, Director: Christoph Eder
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergThe Silences (Los Silencios), Brazil/France/Columbia 2018, Director: Beatriz Seigner
Audience AwardA Thousand Girls Like Me, France/Afghanistan 2018, Director: Sahra Mani
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardPUSH , Sweden 2019, Director: Fredrik Gertten
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergTa’ang, Hongkong/France 2016, Director: Wang Bing
Special MentionCommunion, Poland 2016, Director: Anna Zamecka
Audience AwardThe War Show, Denmark/Finnland/Syria 2016, Directors: Obaidah Zytoon, Andreas Dalsgaard
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardDil Leyla, Germany 2016, Director: Aslı Özarslan
Special MentionFor Ahkeem, USA 2017,Directors: Jeremy S. Levine, Landon van Soest

International Human Rights Film Award NurembergMaidan, Ukraine/Netherlands 2014, Director: Sergei Loznitsa
Audience AwardThe Look of Silence, Denmark/UK/Indonesia/Norway/Finnland 2014, Director: Joshua Oppenheimer
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardSomething Better To Come ,Denmark/Poland 2014, Director: Hanna Polak
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergNorte, Philippines 2013, Director: Lav Diaz
Audience AwardNo Fire Zone: In the Killing Fields of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka/Großbritannien 2013, Regie: Callum Macrae
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardWasteland – So that No One Becomes Aware of It Germany 2013, Director: Anne Kodura
Special MentionCall Me Kuchu, USA 2012, Directors: Katherine Fairfax Wright,
Malika Zouhali-Worrall
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergThe Prize, Mexico/France/Poland/Germany 2011, Director:
Paula Markovitch
Audience Award Son of Babylon, Egypt/France/Iraq/Netherlands/UK/United Arab Emirates/Palestine 2010, Director: Mohamed Al-Daradji
Open Eyes Youth Jury Award9 Lives, Germany 2011, Director: Maria Speth
Special MentionCartonera, Germany 2010, Director: Maria Goinda
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergCrime & Punishment, China 2007, Director: Zhao Liang
Audience AwardBurma VJ – Reporting from a Closed Country, Denmark 2008, Director: Anders Østergaard
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardBurma VJ – Reporting from a Closed Country,Denmark 2008, Director: Anders Østergaard
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergThe Violin, Mexico 2005, Director:
Francisco Vargas
Special MentionPaper Cannot Wrap Up Embers, Cambodia/France 2007, Director: Rithy Panh
Audience AwardSisters in Law, Cameroon 2005, Directors: Florence Ayisi, Kim Longinotto
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardFavela Rising, Brazil/USA 2005, Directors:
Matt Mochary, Jeff Zimbalist

International Human Rights Film Award NurembergEstamira, Brasilien 2004, Director:
Marcos Prado
Special MentionMardi Gras: Made in China, USA 2004, Director: David Redmon
Audience AwardThe Amateurs and the General, Germany 2004, Director: Helge Cramer
Open Eyes Youth Jury AwardBunso: The Youngest, Philippines/UK 2004, Director: Ditsi Carolino
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergS-21: The Khmer Rouge Killing Machine, Cambodia/France 2002, Director: Rithy Panh
Special MentionOtzenrather Sprung, Germany 2001, Director: Jens Schanze
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergLong Night’s Journey into Day, USA 2000, Directors: Deborah Hoffmann Frances Reid
Special MentionSud, France/Belgium 1999, Director: Chantal Akermann
International Human Rights Film Award NurembergThe Little Girl Who Sold the Sun, Senegal/France 1999, Director: Djibril Dio Mambety
Kisangani Diary, Austria/France 1997, Director: Hubert Sauper
Memoria, Italy 1997, Director: Ruggero Gabbai