Rift Finfinnee

DIRECTED BY: Daniel Kötter COUNTRIES: Ethiopia, Germany YEAR: 2020 LANGUAGE(S): Amharic, Oromiffa SUBTITLES:GERMAN RUNTIME: 79 min

SECTION: Weekender 2022

SCREENINGS

SYNOPSIS

Daniel Kötter’s film sends the viewer on a journey through the periphery of the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa in strictly composed images and a soundtrack that interweaves the original sounds in a complex way. Based on geography, architecture and everyday life, an allegorical narrative emerges about the urbanization of a society on the brink of civil war.

Rift Finfinnee documents the rural-urban transformation of space and its consequences for coexistence using the example of four settlements in the east of the Ethiopian capital: The village Dingaja,the social housing estate Bole Arabsa,the middle-class apartment blocks, Ayat Condominiums and the gated community, CCD Homes. Four different backdrops for Ethiopia’s profound social transformation, all four within sight of each other, but separated by a deep rift that divides city from non-city, present from projected future, Oromo from Amhara: the gorge of the Akaki River.

A single pedestrian bridge spans the “rift”, part of the Great African Rift Valley, which not only represents the geographical and administrative boundary between urban and rural areas, but also the symbolic rift between urban and rural life, which manifests itself in bloody conflicts between the urban Amhara, the politically dominant Tigray and the Oromo farmers.

BIOGRAPHY

Daniel Kötter is an internationally active filmmaker and music theater director. His works oscillate between different media and institutional contexts and combine experimental film techniques with performative and documentary elements. They have been shown worldwide at numerous film and video art festivals, in galleries, theaters and concert halls. His main works include the music theater trilogies Falsche Arbeit, Falsche Freizeit, Freizeitspektakel(2008-10), KREDIT RECHT LIEBE(2013-16) and STADT LAND FLUSS (2017-19, all with Hannes Seidl), the multi-channel trilogy Arbeit und Freizeit(2009-2011) and the film, performance and discourse series state-theatreon the conditions of the performative in the cities of Lagos, Tehran, Berlin, Detroit, Beirut, Mönchengladbach (2009-2014 with Constanze Fischbeck). His extensive film and text work KATALOG (2013) was created in 13 countries around the Mediterranean with a particular interest in spatial practices. Visual research repeatedly takes him to the African continent and the Middle East. In 2014-18, he worked with curator Jochen Becker (metroZones) and others on the research, exhibition and film project CHINAFRIKA. Under Construction. In 2017-20 he made the documentary film trilogy Hashti Tehran(2017, 60′), Desert View(2018, 84′) and Rift Finfinnee (2020, 80′) about urban peripheries in Tehran, Cairo and Addis Ababa. Hashti Tehrangewon the special prize of the German Short Film Award. Daniel Kötter is currently working on a series of spatial performances and 360° films on the landscape and social consequences of extractivism in Germany, West Papua, DR Congo and Estonia under the title landscapes and bodies.

FILMOGRAPHY KREDIT RECHT LIEBE (2013-2016) Katalog (2014) Hashti Tehran (2016) STADT LAND FLUSS (2017 – 2019) Chinafrika.mobile (2018) Desert View (2018) Yu Gong (2019) Rift Finfinnee (2021)

PRODUCER: Meike Martens CINEMATOGRAPHY: Daniel Kötter EDITED BY: Daniel Kötter MUSIC: Getatchew Merkuria

PRODUCTION: Blinker Film (mm@blinkerfilm.de) WORLD SALES: Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. (distribution@arsenal-berlin.de)

Q&A with Daniel Kötter

Rift Finfinnee

REGIE: Daniel Kötter LAND: Äthiopien, Deutschland JAHR: 2020 SPRACHE(N): Amharisch, Oromiffa UNTERTITEL: Deutsch LÄNGE: 79 min

SEKTION: Weekender 2022

VORSTELLUNGEN

INHALT

Der Film von Daniel Kötter schickt den/die Betrachter*in in streng komponierten Bildern und einer die Originaltöne komplex verwebenden Tonspur auf eine Reise durch die Peripherie der äthiopischen Hauptstadt Addis Ababa. Ausgehend von Geographie, Architektur und Alltagsleben entsteht eine auch allegorische Erzählung über das Stadtwerden einer Gesellschaft am Rande des Bürgerkriegs.

Rift Finfinnee dokumentiert die rural-urbane Transformation von Raum und ihre Konsequenzen für das Zusammenleben am Beispiel von vier Siedlungen im Osten der äthiopischen Hauptstadt: Das Dorf Dingaja, die Sozialbausiedlung Bole Arabsa, die Mittelstandswohnblocks Ayat Condominiums und die gated community CCD Homes. Vier unterschiedliche Kulissen für den tiefgreifenden gesellschaftlichen Wandel Äthiopiens, alle vier in Sichtweite voneinander, jedoch getrennt durch einen tiefen Graben, der Stadt von Nicht-Stadt, Gegenwart von projektierter Zukunft, Oromo von Amhara trennt: die Schlucht des Akaki Flusses.

Eine einzige Fußgänger-Brücke überspannt jenen „Rift“, Teil des Großen Afrikanischen Grabenbruchs, der nicht nur die geographische und administrative Grenze von Stadt und Land darstellt, sondern an dem sich auch der symbolische Riss zwischen urbanem und ruralem Leben manifestiert, der sich in blutigen Konflikten zwischen den urban geprägten Amhara, den politisch dominanten Tigray und den Oromo-Farmern entlädt.

BIOGRAPHIE

Daniel Kötter ist ein international tätiger Filmemacher und Musiktheater-Regisseur. Seine Arbeiten changieren zwischen verschiedenen medialen und institutionellen Kontexten und verbinden Techniken des Experimentalfilms mit performativen und dokumentarischen Elementen. Sie wurden weltweit auf zahlreichen Film- und Videokunstfestivals, in Galerien, Theatern und Konzerthäusern gezeigt. Zu seinen Hauptwerken zählen die die Musiktheater-Trilogien Falsche Arbeit, Falsche Freizeit, Freizeitspektakel(2008-10), KREDIT RECHT LIEBE(2013-16) und STADT LAND FLUSS (2017-19, alle mit Hannes Seidl), die Mehrkanal-Trilogie Arbeit und Freizeit(2009-2011) sowie die Film-, Performance- und Diskursreihe state-theatreüber die Bedingungen des Performativen in den Städten Lagos, Teheran, Berlin, Detroit, Beirut, Mönchengladbach (2009-2014 mit Constanze Fischbeck). Seine umfangreiche Film- und Textarbeit KATALOG (2013) entstand in 13 Ländern rund um das Mittelmeer mit einem besonderen Interesse an Praktiken des Raums. Visuelle Recherchen führen ihn immer wieder auf den afrikanischen Kontinent sowie in den Mittleren Osten. 2014-18arbeitete er u.a. mit dem Kurator Jochen Becker (metroZones) an dem Recherche-, Ausstellungs- und Filmprojekt CHINAFRIKA. Under Construction. 2017-20 erarbeitete er die Dokumentar-Film Trilogie Hashti Tehran(2017, 60’), Desert View(2018, 84‘) und Rift Finfinnee (2020, 80‘) über urbane Peripherien in Teheran, Kairo und Addis Abeba. Hashti Tehrangewann den Sonderpreis des Deutschen Kurzfilmpreises. Zur Zeit arbeitet Daniel Kötter unter dem Titel landscapes and bodies an einer Reihe von Raumperformances und 360° Filmen zu den landschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Folgen des Extraktivismus in Deutschland, West Papua, DR Kongo und Estland.

FILMOGRAPHIE KREDIT RECHT LIEBE (2013-2016) Katalog (2014) Hashti Tehran (2016) STADT LAND FLUSS (2017 – 2019) Chinafrika.mobile (2018) Desert View (2018) Yu Gong (2019) Rift Finfinnee (2021)

PRODUZENT:IN: Meike Martens KAMERA: Daniel Kötter SCHNITT: Daniel Kötter MUSIK: Getatchew Merkuria

KONTAKTE PRODUKTION: Blinker Film (mm@blinkerfilm.de) WELTVERTRIEB: Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. (distribution@arsenal-berlin.de)