Profile

The Nuremberg International Human Rights Film Festival (NIHRFF) is Germany’s biggest and most important film festival on human rights. The biannual festival presents international film art with a conscience from all around the world since 1999.

With three international competitions, a high-profile jury, around 50 filmmakers, many activities for industry representatives and numerous premieres, NIHRFF has become one of the most renowned thematic film festivals in Europe.

NIHRFF is anchored regionally and focused internationally.

NIHRFF is Nuremberg’s most popular film festival, welcoming around 10,000 visitors per edition. It is an regionally rooted cultural event that radiates internationally beyond Franconian-Bavarian borders. Based far off big cities like Munich and Berlin, the festival presents a sophisticated film program every two years in a professional setting with a relaxed, stimulating atmosphere.

NIHRFF stands for quality.

NIHRFF is unreservedly committed to quality. This applies not only to our stringent programming and film selection but also to all organizational matters.

NIHRFF is accessible.

NIHRFF considers itself as a accessible film event, open in all directions. Everyone is welcome. It is an attractive and communicative platform for filmmakers, cineastes, representatives of the film industry and human rights activists alike.

NIHRFF ist inclusive.

As a human rights film festival, NIHRFF recognizes the right of every individual to participate in culture and the political and social discourse. Therefore, Nuremberg citizens with low income as well as refugees are granted free admission. Fruther, the festival developed and implemented a concept together with the local deaf community to create easy access for a deaf or hard of hearing audience.

NIHRFF educates.

NIHRFF makes an important contribution to human rights education at local, national and EU level with its film talks, panel discussions and exhibitions as well as the educational youth project Open Eyes. The project includes school screenings, a youth jury, youth reporters, as well as teacher trainings, and has become the most successful educational film program of all Bavarian film festivals.

NIHRFF represents international competence.

The festival is one of the leading competence centers on human rights and film worldwide. Its festival concept aiming towards dialogue, solidarity, and sustainability finds its continuation in advising and supporting film festivals, filmmakers, NGOs, and film initiatives worldwide. As a sought-after cooperation partner, NIHRFF curates film series, workshops and panel discussions for other film festivals and fills jury positions worldwide.

NIHRFF connects and shapes.

NIHRFF has been working in international and regional networks for years and is involved in film politics.

As a founding member of the Human Rights Film Network, an association of around 40 international human rights film festivals, NIHRFF actively shapes the film industry.

In 2014, NIHRFF joined 17 other festivals in founding the Association of Bavarian Film Festivals. NIHRFF director Andrea Kuhn was elected as its first chairwoman.

Profil

Das Nuremberg International Human Rights Film Festival (NIHRFF) ist Deutschland größtes und wichtigstes Filmfestival zum Thema Menschenrechte. Seit 1999 präsentiert es alle zwei Jahre engagierte internationale Filmkunst.

Mit drei internationalen Wettbewerben, einer hochkarätigen Fachjury, rund 50 geladenen Filmschaffenden, vielen Angeboten für Branchenvertreter*innen und zahlreichen Premieren hat sich NIHRFF zu einem der renommiertesten thematischen Filmfestivals in Europa entwickelt.

NIHRFF ist regional verankert und international renommiert.

Mit rund 10.000 Besuchern pro Ausgabe ist es das publikumsträchtigste Filmfestival Nürnbergs. NIHRFF ist eine etablierte, regional positionierte Kulturveranstaltung, die international über die fränkisch-bayerischen Grenzen hinweg strahlt. Abseits der Hauptstädte Berlin und München präsentiert das Festival alle zwei Jahre ein anspruchsvolles Filmprogramm in einem professionellen Rahmen und in einer entspannt-anregenden Atmosphäre.

NIHRFF steht für Qualität.

NIHRFF bekennt sich uneingeschränkt zu Qualität – sei es in der Programmgestaltung mit stringenter kuratorischer Handschrift oder in organisatorischer Hinsicht.

NIHRFF ist niederschwellig.

NIHRFF versteht sich als niederschwelliges Filmevent, in alle Richtungen offen – für Publikum genauso wie für Fachgäste. Das Festival ist eine attraktive und kommunikative Plattform für Filmschaffende, Cineast*innen, Vertreter*innen der Filmbranche und Menschenrechtler*innen.

NIHRFF ist inklusiv.

Als Menschenrechtsfilmfestival erkennt NIHRFF das Recht jedes einzelnen Menschen an, an Kultur und am politisch-gesellschaftlichen Diskurs teilzuhaben. Für einkommensschwache Nürnberger Bürger*innen und Geflüchtete sind die Vorstellungen des Festivals kostenlos. 2015 hat das Festival mit der regionalen Gehörlosen-Community ein Konzept entwickelt und umgesetzt, um einen möglichst guten Festivalzugang für ein gehörloses oder schwerhöriges Publikum zu schaffen.

NIHRFF bildet.

Aus der Stadt der Menschenrechte heraus leistet NIHRFF mit seinem erfolgreichen Schulprojekt Open Eyes, seinen Filmgesprächen, Podiumsdiskussionen und Ausstellungen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Menschenrechtsbildung auf lokaler, bundesweiter sowie auf EU-Ebene. Die Aktivitäten des Schulprojekts Open Eyes (Schulvorstellungen, Jugendjury, Jugendreporter, Lehrerfortbildungen) haben es zum erfolgreichsten Schulfilmprogramm aller bayerischen Filmfestivals gemacht.

NIHRFF steht für internationale Kompetenz.

Das Festival ist eines der führenden Kompetenzzentren zum Thema Menschenrechte und Film weltweit. Sein auf Dialog, Solidarität und Nachhaltigkeit hin ausgerichtetes Festivalkonzept findet seine Fortsetzung in der Beratung und Unterstützung von Filmfestivals, Filmschaffenden, NGOs und Filminitiativen weltweit. Als gefragter Kooperationspartner kuratiert NIHRFF Filmreihen, Workshops und Podiumsdiskussionen für andere Filmfestivals und besetzt Juryposten weltweit.

NIHRFF gestaltet.

NIHRFF arbeitet seit Jahren in internationalen und regionalen Netzwerken, engagiert sich filmpolitisch und gestaltet so aktiv die Filmbranche mit.

Als Gründungsmitglied des Human Rights Film Network, einem Verband von rund 40 internationalen Menschenrechtsfilmfestivals, gestaltet NIHRFF aktiv die Filmbranche mit.

2014 gründete NIHRFF gemeinsam mit 17 anderen Festivals den Verband Bayerischer Filmfestivals, zu dessen erster Vorsitzenden NIHRFF-Leiterin Andrea Kuhn gewählt wurde.