White Out, Black In

191593_ 01

Branco sai, preto fica

DIRECTOR(S): Adirley Queirós   COUNTRY: Brazil   YEAR: 2014   LANGUAGES: Portuguese   SUBTITLES: German   RUNNING TIME: 93 min  

SCREENINGS
Thursday, Oct 1, 21.15h, Festsaal
Monday, Oct 5, 17.15h, Kommkino

SECTION: Competition

In this film based on a true story, director Adirley Queirós mixes documentary, science fiction and music and explodes all three of the familiar genres. WHITE OUT, BLACK IN is an unbelievably apocalyptic vision of a country shaped by racism and police violence.

An agent travels from the year 2073 to the present to examine Brazil’s destructive social development. He lands in Ceilândia, a satellite city of Brasilia. He meets the former musician Marquim and ex-dancer Sartana. Both are Afro-Brazilians and both have had to live with physical and mental injuries since a racially-motivated police attack on them in a club in 1986.

What could have become another treatise on the consequences of police violence against the poor in Brazil is given a completely different garb by Queirós who creates an innovative and enthralling narrative cinematic form. He uses the inhospitable corrugated metal huts of the favelas of Ceilândia as his setting for a dystopian apocalyptic film and seamlessly combines elements of sci-fi with those of documentary. The rhythms of traditional Forró and Baile music and electro beats provide the soundtrack for the audience’s journey through life with the protagonists and their being sucked into a scenario of the future that is closer than one would like to think.

ADIRLEY QUEIRóS
Adirley Queirós was born in Ceilândia, Brazil. He was a professional soccer player until a major injury at the age of 25. When he was 28, he enrolled at the University of Brasilia for Communication Studies with a focus on film. His first short film RAP, O CANTO DA CEILÂNDIA was also his degree thesis and won several prizes. His IS THE CITY ONE ONLY? and WHITE OUT, BLACK IN have already received several awards at important Brazilian film festivals. WHITE OUT, BLACK IN is his fifth film.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Adirley Queirós   PRODUCER: Denise Vieira, Simone Gonçalves, Adirley Queirós   CAMERA: Leonardo Feliciano   EDITOR: Guile Martins, Camila Machado   MUSIC: Marquim do Tropá   CAST: Marquim do Tropa, Shockito, Dilmar Durães

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Cinco Da Norte, Trotoar   WORLD SALES: Cinco Da Norte   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

White Out, Black In

Branco sai, preto fica

REGIE: Adirley Queirós   LAND: Brasilien   JAHR: 2014   SPRACHE(N): Portugiesisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 93 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Donnerstag, 01.10., 21.15 Uhr, Festsaal
Montag, 05.10., 17.15 Uhr, Kommkino

SEKTION: Competition

Beruhend auf einem wahren Fall, entwirft Regisseur Adirley Queirós einen irren Mix aus Dokumentation, Science Fiction und Musikfilm, der alle bekannten Kategorien sprengt. WHITE OUT, BLACK IN ist die unglaubliche Endzeitvision eines von Rassismus und Polizeigewalt geprägten Landes.

Ein Agent reist aus dem Jahr 2073 in die Gegenwart, um die Ursachen der zerstörerischen sozialen Entwicklung Brasiliens aufzuklären. Er landet in Ceilândia, einer Satellitenstadt Brasilias. Hier trifft er auf den ehemaligen Musiker Marquim und den Ex-Tänzer Sartana. Beide sind Afrobrasilianer und beide müssen seit einem rassistisch motivierten Polizeiüberfall auf eine Disco im Jahr 1986 mit ihren körperlichen und seelischen Verletzungen leben.

Was eine weitere Abhandlung über die Folgen der herrschenden Polizeigewalt an der armen Bevölkerung in Brasilien hätte werden können, packt Queirós in ein völlig neues Gewand und schafft damit eine innovative und spannende Erzählform des Kinos. Er nutzt dabei die unwirtlichen Wellblechhütten der Favelas von Ceilândia als Dekor für seinen dystopischen Endzeitfilm und vermischt Sciencefiction-Elemente nahtlos mit denen des Dokumentarischen. Getragen vom Rhythmus des traditionellen Forró und des mit elektrischen Beats versetzten Baile, reist der Zuschauer mit den Protagonisten durch deren Leben und wird so hineingesogen in ein düsteres Zukunftsszenario, das der Gegenwart näher ist, als man glauben mag.

ADIRLEY QUEIRóS
Adirley Queirós wurde in Ceilândia in Brasilien geboren. Er war bis zu seinem 25. Lebensjahr Fußballprofi bis ihn eine Verletzung vom Platz zwang. Mit 28 Jahren schrieb er sich an der Universität von Brasilia für ein Studium der Kommunikation mit Schwerpunkt Film ein. Sein erster Kurzfilm RAP, O CANTO DA CEILÂNDIA war seine Studienabschlussarbeit und erhielt mehrfach Auszeichnungen. Seine Filme IS THE CITY ONE ONLY? und WHITE OUT, BLACK IN wurden bereits auf bedeutenden brasilianischen Filmfestivals prämiert. WHITE OUT, BLACK IN ist sein insgesamt fünfter Film.

FILMOGRAFIE
Rap, o canto da Ceilândia (2005), Dias de greve (2009), Out of Green (2010), Is the City One Only? (2011), White out, Black in (2014)

DREHBUCH: Adirley Queirós   PRODUZENT_IN: Denise Vieira, Simone Gonçalves, Adirley Queirós   KAMERA: Leonardo Feliciano   SCHNITT: Guile Martins, Camila Machado   MUSIK: Marquim do Tropá   MIT: Marquim do Tropa, Shockito, Dilmar Durães

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Cinco Da Norte, Trotoar   WELTVERTRIEB: Cinco Da Norte   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: