Stop the Boats

Stop The Boats

Stop the Boats

DIRECTOR(S): Nicolai Jung   COUNTRY: Germany   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: Arabic, English   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 56 min  

SCREENINGS

Friday, 29.09., 7:00 p.m., Festsaal, follwed by a panel discussion at 2.OG Kopfbau with Nicolai Jung, Viraj Mendis und Theresa Leisgang. Moderation: Ramona Lenz (medico international)

SECTION: Internationales Forum

STOP THE BOATS tells the story of a fishing boat with 65 refugees – mainly Tamils from Sri Lanka – that was picked up by the Australian coastguard on its way to New Zealand. The refugees were forced back onto unseaworthy boats and eventually accommodated in a center. Representatives from the International Organization for Migration (IOM) visited them and even got some of them to agree to go back home.
After the screening, we will talk to the filmmaker Nicolai Jung, Viraj Mendis from IMRV Bremen and Bernd Theresa Leisgang from Sea-Watch about Australia's anti-refugee policies, which some European politicians see as a model. We will be looking at the parallels between what is happening off the Australian coast and the increasing criminalization of rescue missions in the Mediterranean. We will also be discussing the role of international organizations such as the IOM.
Moderation: Ramona Lenz (medico international).

NICOLAI JUNG
Nicolai Jung was born in 1975 in Hamburg, Germany, He studied Political Science and Journalism. Today her works as a freelance journalist and filmmaker. He's part of Yardstick Films and produces documentary films. Stop the Boats is his directing debut.
Nicolai also has 20 years of experience in international human rights work. As a filmmaker he also is exploring instances where basic rights are being ignored. He wants to contribute with small and big stories to a constructive discourse around political and social issues.
Nicolai is currently working on a documentary on Tamil refugee women. The film explores how the therapeutic work with victims of political violence and military counterinsurgency risks depoliticising traumatic experiences.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Nicolai Jung, Phil Miller   CAMERA: Nicolai Jung   EDITOR:    MUSIC: Santhors JP   CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Yardstick Films   WORLD SALES:    GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Stop the Boats

Stop the Boats

REGIE: Nicolai Jung   LAND: Deutschland   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Arabisch, Englisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 56 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Freitag, 29.09.,19.00 Uhr, Festsaal, anschließend Podiumsdiskussion im 2. OG Kopfbau mit Nicolai Jung, Viraj Mendis und Theresa Leisgang. Moderation: Ramona Lenz (medico international)

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Der Film STOP THE BOATS dokumentiert, wie ein Boot mit 65 Flüchtlingen – vorwiegend Tamil*nnen aus Sri Lanka – im Mai 2015 auf dem Weg nach Neuseeland auf hoher See von der australischen Küstenwache aufgebracht wird. Die Flüchtlinge werden in marode Boote verfrachtet und bewusst in Seenot gebracht, bevor man sie schließlich interniert. Im Lager werden sie von Vertreter*nnen der Internationalen Organisation für Migration (IOM) dazu genötigt, einer Rückkehr in ihre Herkunftsländer zuzustimmen, was einige auch tun.
Im Anschluss an den Film diskutieren wir mit dem Filmemacher Nicolai Jung, mit Viraj Mendis vom IMRV Bremen und mit Theresa Leisgang von Sea-Watch über die australische Anti-Flüchtlingspolitik, die immer wieder als Vorbild für Europa ins Spiel gebracht wird. Angesichts der zunehmenden Kriminalisierung ziviler Seenotrettungsmissionen auf dem Mittelmeer fragen wir nach Parallelen und Unterschieden zwischen dem Geschehen auf dem Mittelmeer und vor der australischen Küste und diskutieren die Rolle internationaler Organisationen wie der IOM.
Moderation: Ramona Lenz (medico international).

NICOLAI JUNG
Nicolai Jung wurde 1975 in Hamburg geboren. Er hat Politikwissenschaften und Journalistik studiert. Heute arbeitet er als freier Journalist und Filmemacher in Bremen. Im Team von Yardstick Films produziert er Dokumentarfilme. Stop the Boats ist sein erster Film als Regisseur.
Neben seiner journalistischen Tätigkeit hat Nicolai fast 20 Jahre Erfahrungen in verschiedenen Bereichen internationaler Menschenrechtsarbeit gesammelt. Auch als Filmemacher ist es sein Interesse, dort nachzuforschen, wo grundlegende Rechte missachtet werden, und durch kleine und große Geschichten einen Beitrag zum konstruktiven Diskurs politischer und gesellschaftlicher Fragen zu leisten.  
Aktuell arbeitet Nicolai an einem Dokumentarfilm mit geflüchteten tamilischen Frauen. Der Film untersucht die Frage, inwieweit die therapeutische Arbeit mit Opfern politischer Gewalt und militärischer Aufstandsbekämpfung die Gefahr einer Entpolitisierung der traumatischen Erfahrungen in sich birgt.

FILMOGRAFIE
Stop the Boats (2017)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Nicolai Jung, Phil Miller   KAMERA: Nicolai Jung   SCHNITT:    MUSIK: Santhors JP   MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Yardstick Films   WELTVERTRIEB:    DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: