Shooting the Mafia

Shooting the Mafia

DIRECTOR(S): Kim Longinotto   COUNTRY: Ireland, United States   YEAR: 2019   LANGUAGES: Italian, English   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 97 min  

SCREENINGS

Friday, 04.10., 4.00 pm, kommkino
Sunday, 06.10., 8.00 pm, Caritas-Pirckheimer-Haus

SECTION: Internationales Forum

For a long time, the mafia ruled Sicily unchecked, and their crimes were invisible to the world. This changed in the 1970s, when Letizia Battaglia became Italy’s first photojournalist to document the brutal murders and the profound influence of the mafia. Her black-and-white images appear timeless and have lost none of their impact. In order to actively fight the Cosa Nostra, Battaglia entered politics from 1985 to 1996; this was the time of the spectacular anti-mafia trials held by the examining magistrates Giovanni Falcone and Paolo Borsellino. In her private life, Battaglia broke with social conventions: after a marriage that ended in an early divorce, she lived a self-determined life with a series of younger lovers.
Up to now, director Kim Longinotto has always filmed her own observational documentaries. For this portrait however, she and her long-standing editor Ollie Huddleston found a new cinematic form: using carefully edited excerpts from Italian cult films, she illustrates the youth and memories of the fun-loving Letizia Battaglia, thus creating a counterweight to Battaglia’s grim photos of mafia crimes.

KIM LONGINOTTO

Kim Longinotto was born in London in 1952. She studied Camera and Direction at the National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield and has been realizing numerous documentaries since 1978, all of which put female rebels and outsiders in the center of attention. Gaea Girls, a film about two girls in a Japanese training camp for ring fighters, was Longinottos first work to be picked for the section Panorama Dokumente at the Berlinale. In 2013, Salma, a documentary about the life of Muslim women in South India, was also presented in this section. In 2015, Longinotto received the Directing Award in the World Cinema Documentaries Competition at the Sundance Film Festival for her film Dreamcatcher.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Niamh Fagan   CAMERA: Kim Longinotto   EDITOR: Ollie Huddleston   MUSIC: Ray Harman   CAST: Letizia Battaglia

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Lunar Pictures   WORLD SALES: Vesna Cudic, Charades , Metfilm Sales   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Shooting the Mafia

Shooting the Mafia

REGIE: Kim Longinotto   LAND: Irland, Vereinigte Staaten   JAHR: 2019   SPRACHE(N): Italienisch, Englisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 97 min

VORSTELLUNGEN

Donnerstag, 03.10., 18.00 Uhr, Caritas-Pirckheimer-Haus
Sonntag, 05.10., 21.15 Uhr, Caritas-Pirckheimer-Haus

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Lange regierte die Mafia auf Sizilien ungehindert, ihre Verbrechen waren für die Welt unsichtbar. Das änderte sich in den 1970er-Jahren, als Letizia Battaglia als erste Fotojournalistin Italiens die brutalen Morde und den tiefgreifenden Einfluss der Mafia zu dokumentieren begann. Ihre Schwarzweißfotografien wirken zeitlos und haben nichts von ihrer Wucht verloren. Um aktiv gegen die Cosa Nostra zu kämpfen, ging Battaglia von 1985 bis 1996, der Zeit der spektakulären Anti-Mafia-Prozesse der Untersuchungsrichter Giovanni Falcone und Paolo Borsellino, in die Politik. Im Privatleben brach sie mit gesellschaftlichen Konventionen und lebte nach einer früh geschiedenen Ehe selbstbestimmt mit jeweils jüngeren Liebhabern.

Regisseurin Kim Longinotto, die bisher bei ihren beobachtenden Dokumentarfilmen selbst die Kamera führte, hat für dieses Porträt zusammen mit ihrem langjährigen Cutter Ollie Huddleston eine für sie neue filmische Form gefunden. Mit sorgfältig komponierten Ausschnitten aus italienischen Kultfilmen illustriert sie die Jugend und die Erinnerungen der lebenslustigen Letizia Battaglia und schafft so einen Kontrapunkt zu deren beklemmenden Fotos der Mafiaverbrechen.

KIM LONGINOTTO

Kim Longinotto wurde 1952 in London geboren. Sie studierte Kamera und Regie an der National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield und realisierte seit 1978 zahlreiche Dokumentarfilme, in denen Rebell*innen und Outsider*innen im Fokus stehen. Mit Gaea Girls über zwei junge Frauen in einem japanischen Trainingslager für Ringerinnen war sie 2001 erstmals in der Sektion Panorama Dokumente der Berlinale zu Gast. Salma, der vom Leben muslimischer Frauen in Südindien erzählt, lief 2013 im Panorama. Dreamcatcher wurde 2015 auf dem Sundance Film Festival mit dem Regiepreis im Bereich Internationaler Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet.

FILMOGRAFIE

The Good Wife of Tokyo (1992), Dream Girls (1993), Shinjuku Boys (1995), Divorce Iranian Style (1998), Gaea Girls (2000), Runaway (2001), The Day I Will Never Forget (2002), Sisters in Law (2005), Hold me Tight, Let me Go (2007), Rough Aunties (2008), Pink Saris (2010), Salma (2013), Love Is All: 100 Years of Love & Courtship (2014), Dreamcatcher (2015), Shooting the Mafia (2019)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Niamh Fagan   KAMERA: Kim Longinotto   SCHNITT: Ollie Huddleston   MUSIK: Ray Harman   MIT: Letizia Battaglia

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Lunar Pictures   WELTVERTRIEB: Vesna Cudic, Charades , Metfilm Sales   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: