Shelter – Farewell to Eden

Shelter – Farewell to Eden

DIRECTOR(S): Enrico Masi   COUNTRY: Italy, France   YEAR: 2019   LANGUAGES: English, Italian, French, Arabic, Tagalog   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 80 min  

SCREENINGS

Saturday, 05.10., 7.30 pm, kommkino, Q&A with Enrico Masi
Sunday, 06.10., 2.00 pm, Caritas-Pirckheimer-Haus

SECTION: Internationales Forum

The tale of an odyssey: The transsexual Pepsi fled her homeland the Philippines years ago. A member of the Moro Muslim community, she was persecuted because of her sexual orientation. She worked as a nurse in Libya for 10 years before being forced to leave because of the war and the collapse of the state. She made it to Europe, where her woes were not over.

Pepsi’s self-confident voice comments the fragments of her journey through Italy and France. Since she is gay and a refugee, she is twice imperiled. Her tale is a post-colonial parable, in which European geography is the backdrop for an intimate emotional drama. Over three years, an intimate and moving diary develops, which is a profound exploration of identity, restrictions, landscape and bodies.

ENRICO MASI

Enrico Masi, born in 1983, is an Italian film-director and independent researcher. After working within the Department of Educational Sciences at University of Bologna as a film director and researcher and having produced and directed numerous scientific videos, he moved to London where he directed The Golden Temple – Olympic regeneration of East London. The film premiered at the Venice Film Festival in 2012 and was then presented worldwide both as a cinematic and academic work as part of a research project about the impact of mega events. In 2014, he moved to Berlin, supported by the Marco Polo scholarship at UDK. In 2016, he concluded his PhD project at University of Bologna. Shelter – Farewell to Eden has been released in Paris at the Centre Pompidou, London in the British Film Institute and Copenhagen University in 2019, as the final chapter of a broad trilogy, where the ultimate mega event is related to the international humanitarian crisis and third landscape theory.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Enrico Masi, Stefano Migliore   PRODUCER: Stefano Migliore   CAMERA: Stefano Croci   EDITOR: Giuseppe Petruzzellis   MUSIC: Zende Music Ensemble, Fabrizio Puglisi, Patrizio Barontini   CAST:

WEBSITE
http://filmotor.com/shelter/

PRODUCTION: Caucaso   WORLD SALES: Durna Safarova, Filmotor   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Shelter – Farewell to Eden

Shelter – Farewell to Eden

REGIE: Enrico Masi   LAND: Italien, Frankreich   JAHR: 2019   SPRACHE(N): Englisch, Italienisch, Französisch, Arabisch, Tagalog   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 80 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Samstag, 05.10., 19.30 Uhr, kommkino in Anwesenheit von Enrico Masi
Sonntag, 06.10., 14.00 Uhr, Caritas-Pirckheimer-Haus

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Die Geschichte einer Odyssee: Der schwule Pepsi ist vor Jahren aus seiner Heimat, den Philippinen, emigriert. Von der muslimischen Moro Sekte wurde er wegen seiner sexuellen Orientierung verfolgt. Zehn Jahre verbrachte er als Krankenpfleger in Libyen, bis der Bürgerkrieg und der Zerfall des Staates ihn auch von dort vertrieben, diesmal nach Europa. Aber auch hier findet seine Flucht kein Ende.

Pepsis selbstbewusste Stimme kommentiert die Fragmente seiner Reise durch Italien und Frankreich. Als schwuler Geflüchteter ist er ständig einer doppelten Bedrohung ausgesetzt. Sein Voice-Over erzählt eine postkoloniale Parabel, in der sich europäische Geographie mit seinem intimen und emotionalen Drama vermischt. Über drei Jahre entstand so ein beeindruckendes Tagebuch einer unbestimmten Existenz, das tief eindringt in die Diskussion um Identität, Grenzen, Landschaft und Körper.

https://vimeo.com/318962872

ENRICO MASI

Enrico Masi wurde 1983 geboren und ist ein italienischer Filmregisseur und unabhängiger Wissenschaftler. Nachdem er einige wissenschaftliche Videos produziert hatte und als Filmregisseur und Wissenschaftler an der Fakultät für Erziehungswissenschaften an der Universität Bologna tätig war, zog Masi nach London um und führte bei The Golden Temple – Olympic Regeneration of East London Regie. Dieser Film feierte 2012 seine Premiere auf dem Filmfestival von Venedig und wurde dann weltweit auch in wissenschaftlichen Kontexten gezeigt als Teil eines Forschungsprojekts zum Impact von Megaevents. 2014 zog Enrico Masi mit der Unterstützung des Marco Polo Stipendiums der UDK nach Berlin. 2016 schloss er seine Doktorarbeit an der Universität von Bologna ab. Shelter – Farewell to Eden wurde in Paris im Centre Pompidou, in London im British Film Institute und 2019 an der Universität Kopenhagen gezeigt. Der Film ist Teil einer losen Trilogie, in der internationale humanitären Krise und der Theorie der „Third Landscape“ zu den ultimativen Megaevents werden.

FILMOGRAFIE

The Golden Temple – Olympic Regeneration of East London (2012), Muro Basso (2014), Lepanto: O Ultimo Cangaceiro (2016), Shelter: Farewell to Eden (2019)

DREHBUCH: Enrico Masi, Stefano Migliore   PRODUZENT_IN: Stefano Migliore   KAMERA: Stefano Croci   SCHNITT: Giuseppe Petruzzellis   MUSIK: Zende Music Ensemble, Fabrizio Puglisi, Patrizio Barontini   MIT:

WEBSITE
http://filmotor.com/shelter/

PRODUKTION: Caucaso   WELTVERTRIEB: Durna Safarova, Filmotor   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: