Prowl

Vanatoare

Vanatoare

DIRECTOR(S): Alexandra Balteanu   COUNTRY: Germany   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Romanian   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 75 min

SCREENINGS
Saturday, 30.09., 7:00 p.m., kinoeins, Q&A with Alexandra Balteanu
Tuesday, 03.10., 3:30 p.m., kinoeins

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Lidia breeds pigeons and lives a mundane existence with her husband and two children. Denisa wants to buy her freeloading boyfriend a new pair of sneakers. Vanesa dreams of finding the perfect guy with green eyes. Although they see themselves as regular people, others regard them as unworthy because of their profession: prostitution.
Full of sympathy for her protagonists, Alexandra Balteanu depicts one day in their life on the outskirts of Bucharest – a day which includes sandwich breaks, curb crawling, police violence and ice cream.
Every day, the protagonists stand under the highway bridge that links Bucharest with the neighboring town. Life rushes by while they wait for their next trick. Their days pass slowly – surrounded by concrete poles, noise, filth and exhaust fumes. Their daily life is shaped by fear, uncertainty and violence. Balteanu deservedly won the best director’s award at this year’s Max Ophüls festival for her impressive debut film.

ALEXANDRA BALTENAU
Alexandra Balteanu was born in Romania and lives in Germany since 2003. She studied Media Studies at Bauhaus University in Weimar until 2008. After a film internship and shooting a short documentary in Romania, she started studying at the DFFB in Berlin in 2010. Prowl is her first feature film.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Xandra Popescu, Alexandra Baltenau   PRODUCER: Stanislav Danylyshyn   CAMERA: Matan Radin   EDITOR: Antonella Sarubbi   MUSIC: Tobias Mahlstedt   CAST: Corina Moise, Iulia Lumanare, Iulia Ciochina

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Anna Zaluska, Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin   WORLD SALES: Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Grandfilm

Vanatoare

Vanatoare

REGIE: Alexandra Balteanu   LAND: Deutschland   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Rumänisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 75 min

VORSTELLUNGEN
Samstag, 30.09., 19.00 Uhr, kinoeins in Anwesenheit von Alexandra Balteanu
Dienstag, 03.10., 15.30 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Drei Frauen, drei Schicksale. Lidia lebt mit ihrem Ehemann und zwei Kindern am Rande von Bukarest und züchtet Tauben. Denisa hat einen Freund, der unbedingt neue Turnschuhe braucht. Und Vanessa will mit einer Annonce endlich den Mann ihrer Träume finden – aber nur, wenn er grüne Augen hat. Voller Sympathie für ihre Protagonistinnen erzählt Alexandra Balteanu von einem Tag aus dem Leben am Rande von Bukarest zwischen Pausenbrot und Straßenstrich, Polizeigewalt und Eiscreme.
Zusammen stehen sie jeden Tag unter der Autobahnbrücke, die Bukarest mit der nächsten Stadt verbindet. Während das Leben an ihnen vorbeirauscht, warten sie auf den nächsten Freier. Hier, zwischen den Betonpfählen, inmitten von Lärm, Dreck und Abgasen, vergehen ihre Tage mit bleierner Schwere. Ein Alltag, der geprägt ist von Angst, Unsicherheit und Gewalt. Völlig zu Recht gewann Balteanu für ihren beeindruckenden Debütfilm den Filmpreis für die beste Regie beim diesjährigen Max Ophüls-Festival.

ALEXANDRA BALTENAU
Alexandra Balteanu wurde in Rumänien geboren. Seit 2003 lebt sie in Deutschland. Bis 2008 hat sie Medienwissenschaften an der Bauhausuniversität in Weimar studiert. Nach einem Praktikum bei einer Filmproduktion und nach dem Dreh eines kurzen Dokumentarfilms hat sie 2010 angefangen in Berlin an der DFFB in Berlin zu studieren. Vanatoare ist ihr erster Spielfilm.

FILMOGRAFIE
Vanatoare (2016)

DREHBUCH: Xandra Popescu, Alexandra Baltenau   PRODUZENT_IN: Stanislav Danylyshyn   KAMERA: Matan Radin   SCHNITT: Antonella Sarubbi   MUSIK: Tobias Mahlstedt   MIT: Corina Moise, Iulia Lumanare, Iulia Ciochina

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Anna Zaluska, Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin   WELTVERTRIEB: Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Grandfilm