Nuclear Nation II

185231_ 01

Futaba Kara Toku Hanarete Dainibu

DIRECTOR(S): Atsushi Funahashi   COUNTRY: Japan   YEAR: 2014   LANGUAGES: Japanese   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 114 min  

SCREENINGS
Sunday, Oct 4, 13.00h, Festsaal
Tuesday, Oct 6, 18.45h, Kommkino

SECTION: International Forum

Futaba is the village that lies closest to the nuclear reactors of Fukushima. It is still uninhabitable today and villagers still live in temporary accommodation. This is a fascinating long-term documentary about the desperate situation of those people who have had to pay an extremely high price for Japans’s nuclear policy, a sensitive film that centers on the victims of an unforeseeable technology.

In NUCLEAR NATION Atsushi Funahashi accompanied the villagers into their exile. In this sequel he examines their situation today, four years after the disaster. Many are still living in emergency accommodation. It is now clear that they will never be able to return to their homes. Instead, huge amounts of poisonous waste are being stored in their former village.

What does it mean to have to leave one’s home? A member of an old established family of Futuba talks of his home with tears in his eyes, of the parties they had there, of all the generations who lived there. Another woman talks about the temporary accommodation where people can hear their neighbors going to the bathroom. On top of this, the initial solidarity is beginning to wane and there are problems with the old inhabitants of their new “home”.

ATSUSHI FUNAHASHI
Atsushi Funahashi was born in Osaka, Japan, in 1974 and graduated from Tokyo University with a B.A. in Cinema Studies. He moved to New York in 1997 and studied film directing at the School of Visual Arts. BIG RIVER (2006), produced by Office Kitano, was shown in various film festivals (including Berlin, Pusan and Shanghai) and was distributed worldwide. Funahashi moved back to Tokyo in 2007. DEEP IN THE VALLEY (2009), his first Japanese film, NUCLEAR NATION (2012) and NUCLEAR NATION II (2014) were all invited to Berlin Film Festival.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Yoshiko Hashimoto   CAMERA: Yutaka Yamazaki, Atsushi Funahashi   EDITOR: Atsushi Funahashi   MUSIC: Haruyuki Suzuki   CAST:

WEBSITE
http://nuclearnation.jp/en/part2/

PRODUCTION: Documentary Japan, Big River Films   WORLD SALES: Yaël Chouraqui, Wide House   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Nuclear Nation II

Futaba Kara Toku Hanarete Dainibu

REGIE: Atsushi Funahashi   LAND: Japan   JAHR: 2014   SPRACHE(N): Japanisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 114 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Sonntag, 04.10., 13.00 Uhr, Festsaal
Dienstag, 06.10., 18.45 Uhr, Kommkino

SEKTION: International Forum

Futaba ist das Dorf, das am dichtesten an den Unglücksreaktoren von Fukushima liegt. Bis heute ist es nicht bewohnbar – und bis heute wohnt ein Teil der Dorfbewohner in Notunterkünften. Faszinierende Langzeitdokumentation über die verzweifelte Lage der Menschen, die einen extrem hohen Preis für die Atompolitik Japans zahlen müssen und ein einfühlsames Dokument, das die Opfer einer unkalkulierbaren Technologie in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Bereits im ersten Teil seiner Dokumentation (NIHRFF-Weekender 2012) begleitet Atsushi Funahashi die Bewohner in ihr Exil. Und heute, vier Jahre nach der Katastrophe? Immer noch hausen vor allem die alten Dorfbewohner in Notunterkünften und Containern. Es ist mittlerweile klar, dass sie wohl nie wieder in ihr Dorf zurückkehren können. Stattdessen werden auf Flächen der Gemeinde riesige Mengen an Giftmüll deponiert.

Doch was bedeutet es, seine Heimat zu verlieren? Ein Mitglied einer alt eingesessenen Familie Futabas erzählt unter Tränen von seinem Haus, von den Festen, die sie dort gefeiert haben und von den Generationen, die dort gelebt haben. Eine andere Frau erzählt von den Notbehausungen, in denen man den Nachbarn hört, wenn er auf die Toilette geht. Auf der anderen Seite flacht die anfängliche Solidarität langsam ab. Es treten Probleme mit den alten Bewohnern der neuen Heimat auf.

ATSUSHI FUNAHASHI
Atsushi Funahashi wurde 1974 in Osaka, Japan, geboren. Er studierte Filmwissenschaft an der Universität Tokio, bevor er 1997 nach New York zog und an der dortigen School of Visual Arts ein Regiestudium absolvierte. BIG RIVER (2006), der von Office Kitano produziert wurde, war auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals zu sehen (u.a. in Berlin, Busan und Shanghai). Funahashi zog 2007 zurück nach Tokio. DEEP IN THE VALLEY (2009), sein erster japanischer Film, NUCLEAR NATION (2012) und NUCLEAR NATION II (2014) wurden alle zu Berlinale eingeladen.

FILMOGRAFIE

Echoes (2002), Big River (2005), Deep in the Valley (2009), Nuclear Nation (2012), Cold Bloom (2013), Nuclear Nation ll (2014)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Yoshiko Hashimoto   KAMERA: Yutaka Yamazaki, Atsushi Funahashi   SCHNITT: Atsushi Funahashi   MUSIK: Haruyuki Suzuki   MIT:

WEBSITE
http://nuclearnation.jp/en/part2/

PRODUKTION: Documentary Japan, Big River Films   WELTVERTRIEB: Yaël Chouraqui, Wide House   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: