My New European Life

Ma Nouvelle Vie Européenne

DIRECTOR(S): Abou Bakar Sidibé, Moritz Siebert   COUNTRY: Germany, Tunisia   YEAR: 2019   LANGUAGES: French, English   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 22 min  

SCREENINGS

Sunday, 06.10., 9.30 pm, kinoeins

SECTION: Internationales Forum

When Abou from Mali made it to Europe, it felt like a new life had started for him. A life with a future. But while his film about his voyage to Europe is shown all over the world, he lives isolated in a refugee home. An essayistic reflection about Europe's invisible borders and filmmaking as an act of self-empowerment. (Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen)

ABOU BAKAR SIDIBÉ, MORITZ SIEBERT

Abou Bakar Sidibé from Mali was born in 1985. After completing a university degree in English, he worked as a teacher, construction worker, market carrier and lecturer. His first film, Those Who Jump, premiered at Berlinale Forum 2016 and was shown at almost 200 festivals winning more than 25 awards. Sidibé currently lives in Berlin, Germany where he continues to make films and studies to become a preschool teacher.

 

After studying medicine and European Ethnology in Berlin, Moritz Siebert worked as a doctor. He then went back to school and received a Master's degree in documentary direction at the National Film and Television School (NFTS) in the UK. For the last 15 years, Siebert's cinematic work has evolved around migration and global relations. He is not only interested in the point of view of those who decide to leave their country and migrate to another place, but also in the relationships between them and the foreign societies they encounter when they arrive. His last work, Those Who Jump, a cooperation with Abou Bakar Sidibé and Estephan Wagner, won the prize of the ecumenical jury at the Berlinale 2016 and was nominated for the Danish Film Prize.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Abou Bakar Sidibé, Moritz Siebert   PRODUCER: Moritz Siebert   CAMERA: Abou Bakar Sidibé   EDITOR: Cora Czarnecki   MUSIC:    CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Moritz Siebert, Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, siebertfilms   WORLD SALES: Moritz Siebert   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

My New European Life

Ma Nouvelle Vie Européenne

REGIE: Abou Bakar Sidibé, Moritz Siebert   LAND: Deutschland, Tunesien   JAHR: 2019   SPRACHE(N): Französisch, Englisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 22 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Sonntag, 06.10., 21.30 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Als Abou aus Mali in Europa ankam, war es, als hätte ein neues Leben für ihn begonnen. Ein Leben mit einer Zukunft. Aber während sein Film über seine Reise nach Europa überall auf der Welt gezeigt wird, lebt er isoliert in einem Flüchtlingsheim. Eine essayistische Reflexion über Europas unsichtbare Grenzen und über das Filmemachen als Akt der Selbstermächtigung. (Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen)

ABOU BAKAR SIDIBÉ, MORITZ SIEBERT

Abou Bakar Sidibé wurde 1985 in Mali geboren. Nach seinem Abschluss in Anglistik arbeitete er als Lehrer, Bauarbeiter, Transporteur und Dozent. Seine erste Regiearbeit, Les Sauteurs – Those Who Jump, feierte 2016 im Berlinale-Forum Premiere. Er wurde auf fast 200 Festivals gezeigt und mit über 25 Preisen ausgezeichnet. Sidibé lebt heute in Berlin, dreht weiter Filme und macht eine Ausbildung als Erzieher.

Nach seinem Studium der Medizin und Europäischen Ethnologie in Berlin arbeitete Moritz Siebert zunächst einige Jahre als Arzt, bevor er ein Masterstudium in Dokumentarfilmregie an der National Film and Television School (NFTS) in Großbritannien absolvierte. Moritz Siebert beschäftigt sich seit über 15 Jahren filmisch mit Migration und globalen Beziehungen. Dabei interessiert ihn neben der Perspektive der Menschen, die ihr Heimatland verlassen, sowie das Verhältnis zwischen den Ankommenden und der Gesellschaft, die sie vorfinden. Sein letzter Film Les Sauteurs – Those Who Jump, eine Zusammenarbeit mit Abou Bakar Sidibé und Estephan Wagner, erhielt bei den Filmfestspielen von Berlin 2016 den Preis der ökumenischen Jury und war für den Dänischen Filmpreis nominiert.

FILMOGRAFIE

Abou Bakar Sidibé

Les Sauteurs – Those Who Jump (2016), ma nouvelle vie européenne (2019)

 

Moritz Siebert

Erntehelfer (2013), Les Sauteurs – Those Who Jump (2016), ma nouvelle vie européenne (2019)

DREHBUCH: Abou Bakar Sidibé, Moritz Siebert   PRODUZENT_IN: Moritz Siebert   KAMERA: Abou Bakar Sidibé   SCHNITT: Cora Czarnecki   MUSIK:    MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Moritz Siebert, Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, siebertfilms   WELTVERTRIEB: Moritz Siebert   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.