Mare Nostrum

Mare Nostrum

DIRECTOR(S): Rana Kazkaz, Anas Khalaf   COUNTRY: France   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Arabic, English   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 14 min  

SCREENINGS

Sunday, 06.10., 9.30 pm, kinoeins

SECTION: Internationales Forum

A man, a girl and a beach: The man throws the girl into the sea, again and again, even though she cannot swim. And that’s how the days go by…

Laconically, the Syrian directors Rana Kazkaz and Anas Khalaf depict the terrible decisions that people have to make in a situation from which there is no escape. On the one hand there is war, on the other a sea which appears unconquerable.

RANA KAZKAZ, ANAS KHALAF

Rana Kazkaz received a bachelor's degree from Oberlin College in Theatre and Russian and her MFA degree from Carnegie Mellon University/Moscow Art Theater. She earned certificates from the American Film Institute where she attended the Directing Workshop for Women and from the National Theater Institute in Waterford, Connecticut. The award-winning filmmaker will serve as an assistant professor of communication in residence at the Northwestern University in Qatar. Kazkaz’s films have been recognized at the world’s leading film festivals including Cannes, Sundance, Tribeca, Abu Dhabi and others.

After having worked in the oil and gas industry, Anas Khalaf risked everything and turned his sights towards a career in film. Born in Syria, but raised in France, Khalaf moved to Los Angeles in order to work with Frederic Golchan Productions. Whilst in LA, he co-produced the feature Prospect and served as First AD on The Adventures Of Frank Dern. With BintFilm, Khalaf served as Executive Producer on Driving To Zigzigland (Winner Best Film, Amal Festival) and developed Sleeping On Stones (Middle East Screenwriter’s Lab and MFCB, Cannes). Khalaf holds an MBA from the Normandy Graduate School of Business in France.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Rana Kazkaz   PRODUCER: Anas Khalaf, Raphaël Alexandre, Nicolas Reprêtre   CAMERA: √Čric Devin   EDITOR: Monique Dartonne   MUSIC: Kinan Azmeh   CAST: Ziad Bakri, Zayn Khalaf

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Georges Films   WORLD SALES:    GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Mare Nostrum

Mare Nostrum

REGIE: Rana Kazkaz, Anas Khalaf   LAND: Frankreich   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Arabisch, Englisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 14 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Sonntag, 06.10., 21.30 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Ein Mann, ein Mädchen, ein Strand: Der Mann wirft das Mädchen ins Meer, immer wieder, obwohl es nicht schwimmen kann. So vergeht Tag um Tag …

Das syrische Regiepaar Rana Kazkaz und Anas Khalaf erzählt hier lakonisch und fast ohne Dialog von den furchtbaren Entscheidungen, die Menschen angesichts einer schier ausweglosen Situation treffen müssen, wenn im Rücken der Krieg herrscht und vor einem nur das unüberwindlich scheinende Meer liegt.

RANA KAZKAZ, ANAS KHALAF

Rana Kazkaz absolvierte ein Bachelorstudium in Theater und Russisch am Oberlin College und ein Masterstudium von der Carnegie Mellon University/ Moscow Art Theater. Sie erwarb Zertifikate vom American Film Institute, wo sie an einem Regieworkshop für Frauen teilnahm, und vom National Theater Institute in Waterford, Connecticut. Die preisgekrönte Filmemacherin wird nun als Dozentin für Kommunikation an der Northwestern University in Qatar fungieren. Kazkaz‘ Filme wurden auf den weltweit führenden Festivals gezeigt, darunter Cannes, Sundance, Tribeca und Abu Dhabi.

Nachdem er in der Öl- und Gasindustrie gearbeitet hatte, riskierte Anas Khalaf alles und widmete sich seiner Filmkarriere. Geboren in Syrien aber aufgewachsen in Frankreich, zog Khalaf nach Los Angeles, um mit Frederic Golchan Productions zu arbeiten. Währenddessen koproduzierte Anas den Spielfilm Prospect und war als erster Regieassistent bei The Adventures Of Frank Dern tätig. Für BintFilm arbeitete Khalaf als Executive Producer für Driving To Zigzigland (Gewinner Best Film, Amal Festival) und entwickelte Sleeping On Stones (Middle East Screenwriter’s Lab und MFCB, Cannes). Khalaf hat einen Master in Business Administration der Normandy Graduate School of Business in Frankreich.

FILMOGRAFIE

Rana Kazkaz:

Kemo Sabe (2007), Exquisite Corpse (2009), Yom Samt (2011), Searching for the Translator (2016), Mare Nostrum (2016)

 

Anas Khalaf

Yom Samt (2011), Deaf Day (2011), Ham (2014), Searching for the Translator (2015), Mare Nostrum (2016)

DREHBUCH: Rana Kazkaz   PRODUZENT_IN: Anas Khalaf, Raphaël Alexandre, Nicolas Reprêtre   KAMERA: Éric Devin   SCHNITT: Monique Dartonne   MUSIK: Kinan Azmeh   MIT: Ziad Bakri, Zayn Khalaf

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Georges Films   WELTVERTRIEB:    DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: