Mar la mar, El

El Mar la Mar

Mar la mar, El

DIRECTOR(S): J.P. Sniadecki, Joshua Bonnetta   COUNTRY: United States   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: English, Spanish   SUBTITLES: German   RUNNING TIME: 94 min

SCREENINGS

Thursday, 28.09., 6:45 p.m., kinoeins, Q&A with J.P. Sniadecki
Tuesday, 03.10., 11:30 a.m., kommkino

SECTION: Wettbewerb

The sun beats down relentlessly on the Sonoran desert that covers parts of the US and Mexico. The space is sparsely populated by some official border guards and other self-appointed border guards and people trying to get to the US without papers. There is danger everywhere. The heat and sun are lethal during the day. It’s easier to move at night. Those passing through leave traces and things that pale and weather and inscribe themselves in the topography of the landscape – the absent is present in a synchrony of life and death, beauty and horror, a hostile sun and promising night.
Masterfully, EL MAR EL MAR weaves magnificent 16-mm takes of nature, animals, people and their traces with a multi-faceted soundtrack, creating a panorama of a very political space that is no less than a disturbing poetic film.

J.P. SNIADECKI, JOSHUA BONNETTA

J.P. Sniadecki was born in 1979 in Marne, Michigan, USA. He studied philosophy, film and chinese language and culture. He then attended Harvard University, where he earned an MA in East Asian Studies and a PhD in Social Anthropology with Media. J.P. Sniadecki is an artist, filmmaker, and anthropologist. He currently teaches filmmaking in the Documentary Media MFA programme at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, USA.
Joshua Bonnetta
was born in 1979 in Canada. Bonnetta works with analogue films and sound, which he presents in various modes of theatrical exhibition, performances, and installations. He is an associate professor for Film and Video Art and Sound Art at Ithaca College in New York State.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   CAMERA: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   EDITOR: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   MUSIC:    CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   WORLD SALES:    GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Mar la mar, El

Mar la mar, El

REGIE: J.P. Sniadecki, Joshua Bonnetta   LAND: Vereinigte Staaten   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Englisch, Spanisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 94 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Donnerstag, 28.09., 18.45 Uhr, kinoeins in Anwesenheit von J.P. Sniadecki
Dienstag, 03.10., 11.30 Uhr, kommkino

SEKTION: Wettbewerb

Gnadenlos brennt die Sonne auf alle nieder, die die Sonora-Wüste zwischen Mexiko und den USA durchqueren. Neben den wenigen Menschen, die hier leben, sind es offizielle und selbsternannte Grenzschützer und Menschen, die versuchen ohne Papiere in die USA zu gelangen, die in dieser tödlichen Einöde unterwegs sind. Der Horizont scheint in unendlicher Weite, Gefahren lauern überall. Am besten bewegt es sich im Dunkel der Nacht; tagsüber lassen Hitze und Sonneneinstrahlung Tiere und Menschen sterben. Ihre Spuren und Hinterlassenschaften lagern sich ab, verblassen, verwittern und schreiben sich in die Topografie der Landschaft ein; so ist das Abwesende anwesend in einer ständigen Gleichzeitigkeit von Leben und Tod, Schönheit und Grauen, feindlicher Sonne und verheißungsvoller Nacht.
Virtuos verwebt EL MAR LA MAR grandiose 16-mm-Aufnahmen von Natur- und Wetterphänomenen, Tieren, Menschen und ihren Spuren mit einer vielstimmigen Tonspur zum vielschichtigen Panorama eines hochgradig politisierten Landstrichs. Und nicht zuletzt zu einem verstörenden Filmgedicht.

J.P. SNIADECKI, JOSHUA BONNETTA

J.P. Sniadecki wurde 1979 in Marne, Michigan, USA geboren. Neben einem Philosophie- und Filmstudium absolvierte er ein Studium der chinesischen Sprache und Kultur und studierte Ostasienwissenschaften in Harvard. J.P. Sniadecki arbeitet als Künstler, Filmemacher und Anthropologe. Zudem ist er als Autor und als Dozent tätig. Zurzeit unterrichtet J.P. Sniadecki im Rahmen des Documentary Media MFA Programms an der Northwestern University in Evanston (USA).
Joshua Bonnetta
wurde 1979 in Kanada geboren. Bonnetta arbeitet mit analogem Film- und Tonmaterial, das im Rahmen von Kinovorführungen, Performances und Installationen zur Aufführung kommt. Er ist Dozent für Film, Video- und Tonkunst am Ithaca College, New York.

FILMOGRAFIE

J.P. Sniadecki: Songhua (2007), Demolition (2008), The Yellow Bank (2010), Foreign Parts (2010), People’s Park (2012), Yumen (2013, NIHRFF 2013), The Iron Ministry (2014, NIHRFF 2015), El Mar La Mar (2017)
Joshua Bonnetta:
Cathode Aurora (2002), Patchwork (2004), By Grace (2007), Long Shadows (2010), American Colour (2012), Remanence I – (Lost, Lost, Lost, Lost) (2012), Strange Lines and Distances (2013), Land of Thin Air (2017), Low Islands (2017), Lago (2017), El mar la mar (2017)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   KAMERA: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   SCHNITT: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   MUSIK:    MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Joshua Bonnetta, J.P. Sniadecki   WELTVERTRIEB:    DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: