Lemebel

Lemebel

DIRECTOR(S): Joanna Reposi Garibaldi   COUNTRY: Chile, Colombia   YEAR: 2019   LANGUAGES: Spanish   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 96 min  

SCREENINGS

Friday, 04.10., 9.15 pm, kinoeins
Wednesday, 09.10., 4.30 pm, kinoeins

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Pedro Lemebel’s sharp-tongued, poetic texts and provocative performances made him one of South America’s most important contemporary artists. In dictatorial Chile under Pinochet, Lemebel expressed things that only few dared to say. Even for the country’s left-wing opposition, his camp, eccentric appearances made him an awkward figure as he held up the mirror to their own machismo and homophobia. Loud and open, he embodied and propagated an uncomfortable gay identity and vehemently criticised the desire of some ‘gays’ to be assimilated into a heteronormative society.
Joanna Reposi Garibaldi uses countless slides and video clips to shape this essay-like memento which is multilayered in both its visuals and its content and possesses a subtle sound design. She has enhanced it with intimate recordings and interviews. By projecting images of Lemebel’s performances onto public buildings, she not only underscores their character as interventions in public spaces, but also creates unusual additional visual levels for her film. LEMEBEL portrays a tireless fighter who continued to speak out right up until the end of his life. (Berlinale 2019)

JOANNA REPOSI GARIBALDI

Joanna Reposi Garibaldi, a filmmaker and visual artist, was born in Santiago de Chile in 1971 and studied Art at Goldsmiths College, University of London. Her short film Sam & Dave premiered at the Institute of Contemporary Art in London and her debut feature film, Locos del Alma, screened at numerous international festivals. In 2017, she made the short film Matriz, which was shown in the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo in Santiago de Chile and at the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement in Buenos Aires.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Joanna Reposi Garibaldi   PRODUCER: Paula Sáenz-Laguna   CAMERA: Niles Atallah   EDITOR: Titi Viera-Gallo   MUSIC: Camilo Salinas   CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Paula Sáenz-Laguna, Solita Producciones    WORLD SALES: Paulina Portela, Compañía de Cine   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Lemebel

Lemebel

REGIE: Joanna Reposi Garibaldi   LAND: Chile, Kolumbien   JAHR: 2019   SPRACHE(N): Spanisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 96 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Freitag, 04.10., 21.15 Uhr, kinoeins
Mittwoch, 09.10., 16.30 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Mit seinen scharfzüngigen, poetischen Texten und seinen provokanten Performances gehörte Pedro Lemebel zu den wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern Südamerikas. Im diktatorisch geführten Chile unter Pinochet sprach er Dinge aus, die sonst nur wenige zu sagen wagten. Aber auch der linken Opposition wurde er durch seine tuntig-exzentrischen Auftritte ungemütlich, spiegelte er doch dadurch deren eigenen Machismo und ihre Homophobie. Laut und offen lebte und propagierte er ein unbequemes Schwulsein und kritisierte vehement den Wunsch einiger „gays“ nach Assimilation an eine heteronormative Gesellschaft.
Inhaltlich und visuell vielschichtig sowie mit subtilem Sound-Design verarbeitet Joanna Reposi Garibaldi zahllose Dias und Videomitschnitte zu einem essayhaften Erinnerungsstück, das sie mit intimen Aufnahmen und Interviews anreichert. Indem sie Bilder von Lemebels Performances auf öffentliche Gebäude projiziert, unterstreicht sie nicht nur deren Charakter als Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum, sondern schafft auch ungewöhnliche zusätzliche visuelle Ebenen. LEMEBEL ist das Porträt eines unermüdlichen Kämpfers, der bis an sein Lebensende seine Stimme erhob. (Berlinale 2019)

https://vimeo.com/311653006

JOANNA REPOSI GARIBALDI

Die Filmemacherin und visuelle Künstlerin Joanna Reposi Garibaldi wurde 1971 in Santiago de Chile geboren und studierte Kunst am Goldsmiths College, Universität von London. Ihr Kurzfilm Sam & Dave feierte seine Premiere im Institut für Zeitgenössische Kunst in London und ihr erster Spielfilm, Locos del Alma, wurde auf mehreren Festival gezeigt. 2017 schloss sie ihre Arbeit an dem Kurzfilm Matriz ab, welcher im Museo de Arte Contemporáneo in Santiago de Chile und auf der Biennale de l'Image en Mouvement in Buenos Aires vorgeführt wurde.

FILMOGRAFIE

Sam & Dave (2002), Soul Madness (2003), Matriz (2017), Lemebel (2019)

DREHBUCH: Joanna Reposi Garibaldi   PRODUZENT_IN: Paula Sáenz-Laguna   KAMERA: Niles Atallah   SCHNITT: Titi Viera-Gallo   MUSIK: Camilo Salinas   MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Paula Sáenz-Laguna, Solita Producciones    WELTVERTRIEB: Paulina Portela, Compañía de Cine   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: