Investigating Paradise

Investigating-Paradise

Tahqiq fel djenna

DIRECTOR(S): Merzak Allouache   COUNTRY: France, Algeria   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: Arabic, French   SUBTITLES: German   RUNNING TIME: 135 min

SCREENINGS
Sunday, 01.10., 11:00 p.m., kinoeins
Tuesday, 03.10., 8:15 p.m., Festsaal, Q&A with Salima Abada

SECTION: Internationales Forum, Open Eyes

In this entertaining but disturbing film, Merzak Allouache sends out an actress disguised as a journalist to uncover the secret behind the 72 willing virgins supposed to attend to Islamic martyrs in paradise. How big is paradise if it can accommodate all the martyrs? What happens to female martyrs? Do they get to cook again?
It may sound comical but the background is very serious. The journalist Nedjma discovers a very popular YouTube video of a Salafist preacher who currently has a major influence on young Algerian men. She confronts them with probing questions about their ideas of paradise and women. She also talks to various religious representatives, artists and feminists. The impact of the sometimes absurd interpretations of religion is very real: Young men are being incited to sacrifice their lives, while the lives of young women are becoming even more restricted.

MERZAK ALLOUACHE
Merzak Allouache was born in Algeria in 1944. He studied filmmaking in Algiers at the Institut National du Cinéma and subsequently at IDHEC in Paris. In 1976, he directed his first featurefilm Omar Gatlato. Since then, he has been directing films in France and Algeria. His films have frequently been selected by prestigious international festivals such as Cannes, Venice or Berlin.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Bahia Allouache, Merzak Allouache   PRODUCER: Bahia Allouache, Merzak Allouache   CAMERA: Hocine Hadj Ali   EDITOR: Bahia Allouache   MUSIC:    CAST: Salima Abada, Younès Sabeur Chérif

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Bahia Allouache, Les. Asphofilms., Baya Films   WORLD SALES: Les. Asphofilms.   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Investigating Paradise

Tahqiq fel djenna

REGIE: Merzak Allouache   LAND: Frankreich, Algerien   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Arabisch, Französisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 135 min

VORSTELLUNGEN
Sonntag, 01.10., 11.00 Uhr, kinoeins
Dienstag, 03.10., 20.15 Uhr, Festsaal in Anwesenheit von Salima Abada

SEKTION: Internationales Forum, Open Eyes

Regie-Altmeister Allouache schickt in diesem ebenso unterhaltsamen wie bestürzenden Film eine als Journalistin getarnte Schauspielerin los um das Geheimnis der 72 Jungfrauen zu ergründen, die im Paradies auf rechtschaffende Muslime und Märtyrer warten sollen. Aber wie groß ist denn dieses Paradies, um alle Jungfrauen unterzubringen? Und was wird eigentlich aus den gläubigen Frauen? Kochen die wieder?
Was hier vergnüglich klingt, hat einen sehr ernsten Hintergrund. Die Journalistin Nedjma entdeckt ein höchst beliebtes YouTube-Video eines salafistischen Predigers, der gerade unter jungen algerischen Männern einen großen Einfluss hat. Genau diese jungen Männer konfrontiert Nedjma mit ihren Fragen zum Paradies, hackt ungläubig nach und diskutiert mit Feministinnen, Religionsvertretern und Künstler*innen. Denn die Auswirkungen dieser teils absurden Interpretationen sind sehr real: Junge Männer werden zum sogenannten „heiligen Krieg“ angestachelt, während sich der öffentliche Raum für Frauen immer weiter verengt.

MERZAK ALLOUACHE
Merzak Allouache wurde 1944 in Algerien geboren und studierte am Institut National du Cinéma in Algier und am IDHEC in Paris. 1976 drehte er seinen ersten Film Omar Gatlato gedreht. Seitdem sind viele weitere Filme sowohl in Frankreich als auch in Algerien entstanden. Merzak Allouaches Filme werden häufig für berühmte Filmfestivals wie das in Cannes, Venedig oder in Berlin ausgewählt.

FILMOGRAFIE
Bab el Oued City (1993), L’autre monde (2000), The Rooftops (2013), Investigating Paradise (2017)

DREHBUCH: Bahia Allouache, Merzak Allouache   PRODUZENT_IN: Bahia Allouache, Merzak Allouache   KAMERA: Hocine Hadj Ali   SCHNITT: Bahia Allouache   MUSIK:    MIT: Salima Abada, Younès Sabeur Chérif

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Bahia Allouache, Les. Asphofilms., Baya Films   WELTVERTRIEB: Les. Asphofilms.   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: