House of My Fathers

Mouna Kaandam / Nomiyana Mathakaya

DIRECTOR(S): Suba Sivakumaran   COUNTRY: Sri Lanka   YEAR: 2018   LANGUAGES: Tamil, Sinhala   SUBTITLES: German, English   RUNNING TIME: 95 min  

SCREENINGS

Thursday, 03.10., 9.15 pm, kommkino
Saturday, 05.10., 5.00 pm, kommkino, Q&A with Pradeepa (actress)

SECTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

Two Sri Lankan villages – one Tamil, one Sinhala – have been at war with each other for decades. When, on both sides, villagers become infertile, they receive a message from the gods. A Sinhala man and a Tamil woman are to be sent to an isolated place where they will find the secret to renew life. But only one of them will return. In the Forest of the Dead, Asoka and Ahalya will have to confront the secrets of their villages and their personal pasts.

Suba Sivakumaran’s feature-length debut is a fascinating and compressed allegory of war. The self-taught director is astonishingly self-confident in the way that she pairs claustrophobic and intense 4:3 images with a tight sound mix and excellent editing. There is no room for exotic and touristy wide shots of the jungle. In the style of magical realism, wonderful pictures of people’s inner states stand side by side with objective reality, depicting trauma and the consequences of violence and war.

SUBA SIVAKUMARAN

Suba Sivakumaran is a self-taught director who was born in Jaffna, Sri Lanka. Her undergraduate and graduate studies in political science and public policy led to eight years at the United Nations. Afterwards Sivakumaran switched to her current day job at a private firm, working in international humanitarian aid and poverty reduction. Prior to her first feature-length film House of My Fathers, her short film I Too Have A Name was in competition at the 2012 Berlinale, and her second short L'oiseau bleu was shown out-of-competition at Director's Fortnight, Cannes in 2018 as part of the anthology Tunisia Factory.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Suba Sivakumaran   PRODUCER: Suba Sivakumaran   CAMERA: Kalinga Deshapriya   EDITOR: Nse Asuquo   MUSIC: Forest Christenson   CAST: Bimal Jayakodi, Pradeepa , Steve De La Zilwa, Dharshen Dharmaraj, Dasun Pathirana

WEBSITE
https://www.chineseshadows.com/house-of-my-fathers

PRODUCTION: Palmyrah Talkies   WORLD SALES: Ya Li, Asian Shadows   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

House of My Fathers

Mouna Kaandam / Nomiyana Mathakaya

REGIE: Suba Sivakumaran   LAND: Sri Lanka   JAHR: 2018   SPRACHE(N): Tamilisch, Singhalesisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch, Englisch   LĂ„NGE: 95 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Donnerstag, 03.10., 21.15 Uhr, kommkino
Samstag, 05.10., 17.00 Uhr, kommkino, in Anwesenheit von Pradeepa (Darstellerin)

SEKTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

In diesem bildgewaltigen Spielfilm aus Sri Lanka sind ein tamilisches und ein singhalesisches Dorf seit Jahrzehnten verfeindet. Als in beiden Dörfern keine Kinder mehr geboren werden, erinnern sich die Bewohner*innen an eine Weissagung, derzufolge beide Gemeinden je eine Person abstellen müssen, um gemeinsam den mystischen Wald der Toten aufzusuchen. Ein singhalesischer Ex-Rebell und eine tamilische Frau, die Mann und Sohn im Bürgerkrieg verlor. werden ausgeschickt und müssen sich im Zauberwald ihren Ängsten und Schuldgefühlen stellen.
In ihrem Langfilmdebüt erschafft Regisseurin Suba Sivakumaran eine faszinierend dichte Allegorie auf den Krieg. Erstaunlich selbstbewusst paart die Autodidaktin dabei klaustrophobisch-intensive Bilder im 4:3-Format mit einem dichten Soundmix und einem exzellenten Filmschnitt. In dieser Geschichte ist kein Platz für exotisch-touristische Breitwandaufnahmen des Dschungels. Stattdessen dominieren ganz im Stil des magischen Realismus großartige Bilder innerer Zustände, die Seite an Seite mit der objektiven Wirklichkeit stehen, um Traumata und die Auswirkungen von Gewalt und Krieg darzustellen.

SUBA SIVAKUMARAN

Suba Sivakumaran wurde in Jaffna, Sri Lanka, geboren und hat sich das Regie führen selbst beigebracht. Nach ihrem Studium der Politikwissenschaft war Sivakumaran acht Jahre bei den Vereinten Nationen tätig, bevor sie eine Stelle bei einer Privat-Firma antrat, die internationale humanitäre Hilfe und Armutsbekämpfung betreibt. Bevor sie mit House of My Fathers ihr Langfilmdebüt vorlegte, führte sie schon bei zwei Kurzfilmen Regie: Der erste, I Too Have a Name, nahm 2012 am Wettbewerb auf der Berlinale teil. Der zweite, L'oiseau bleu, wurde 2018 als Teil der Anthologie Tunisia Factory bei der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes gezeigt.

FILMOGRAFIE

I Too Have a Name (2012), L’oiseau bleu (2018), House of My Fathers (2018)

DREHBUCH: Suba Sivakumaran   PRODUZENT_IN: Suba Sivakumaran   KAMERA: Kalinga Deshapriya   SCHNITT: Nse Asuquo   MUSIK: Forest Christenson   MIT: Bimal Jayakodi, Pradeepa , Steve De La Zilwa, Dharshen Dharmaraj, Dasun Pathirana

WEBSITE
https://www.chineseshadows.com/house-of-my-fathers

PRODUKTION: Palmyrah Talkies   WELTVERTRIEB: Ya Li, Asian Shadows   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: