Homogenous, Empty Time

Soon-ya kal

DIRECTOR(S): Thunska Pansittivorakul, Harit Srikhao   COUNTRY: Thailand   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: Thai   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 103 min  

SCREENINGS

Monday, 07.10., 3.30 pm, kinoeins
Tuesday, 08.10., 8.00 pm, kinoeins

SECTION: Internationales Forum

“Ruling the country is for soldiers, not civilians” is a recurring statement in Thunska Pansittivorakul’s und Harit Srikhao’s documentary about the rise of nationalism in Thailand. The film’s title is a reference to Walter Benjamin’s notion that nationalist identities always develop in “empty time”, where people share a “homogeneous consciousness”. Without commentary, the film traces the causes of rising nationalism in Thailand.

The filmmakers shot HOMOGENOUS, EMPTY TIME between the 2014 military coup and the death of King Bhumibol Adulyadej in October 2016, as the military leaders consolidated their grip on society and jailed countless political opponents. Different episodes shed light on various facets of Thai and Buddhist nationalism as practiced by the clergy and the boundless adoration of the king. Young men in boarding schools and military academies are drilled for their future tasks. Their conversations reveal chauvinistic and nationalist ideologies. They are opposed by civil society activists whose room for maneuver is increasingly narrow.

THUNSKA PANSITTIVORAKUL, HARIT SRIKHAO

Thunska Pansittivorakul was born in 1973 in Bangkok, Thailand, and graduated in Art Education from Bangkok University. His second feature-length documentary, Happy Berry, won the Grand Prize at the 4th Taiwan International Documentary Festival in 2004. In 2007, he received the Silpathorn Award from the The Ministry of Culture's Office of Contemporary Arts. In 2012, he founded the production company Sleep of Reason Films. He also teaches at the department of film at Bangkok University. His first fiction film, Supernatural (2014), had its world premiere at IFFR. He collaborated with Harit Srikhao on the documentaries sPACEtIME and Homogeneous, Empty Time.

Harit Srikhao was born in Thailand in 1995. He first started playing with cameras at the age of thirteen and was selected to attend the Angkor Photo Workshop by Antoine D'Agata, a renowned French photographer, at age 16. He combines documentary and fiction photography, often with the theme of a broken childhood. Srikhao’s work has been exhibited nationally and internationally. He collaborated with Thunska Pansittivorakul on the documentaries sPACEtIME (2015), Srikhao’s debut film, and Homogeneous, Empty Time.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Thunska Pansittivorakul, Jürgen Brüning   CAMERA: Harit Srikhao, Watcharapol Paksri, Suppakit Sritrakul, Warat Poonyasiri, Itdhi Phanmanee, Phassarawin Kulsomboon   EDITOR: Thunska Pansittivorakul   MUSIC: Chom Chumkasian   CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Sleep of Reason Films, Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion   WORLD SALES: Jürgen Brüning, Berlin Collection, Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion

Homogeneous, Empty Time

Soon-ya kal

REGIE: Thunska Pansittivorakul, Harit Srikhao   LAND: Thailand   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Thailändisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 103 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Montag, 07.10., 15.30 Uhr, kinoeins
Dienstag, 08.10., 20.00 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

„Das Land zu regieren ist etwas für Soldaten, nicht für Zivilisten“, Dieser Satz setzt sich fest, wenn man Thunska Pansittivorakuls und Harit Srikhaos Dokumentarfilm über das Erstarken des thailändischen Nationalismus sieht. Dabei beziehen sich die Filmemacher in ihrem Titel HOMOGENEOUS, EMPTY TIME auf Walter Benjamins Schrift über den Begriff der Geschichte, in der er feststellt, dass sich nationalistische Ideologien immer in der „leeren Zeit“ entwickeln, dort, wo Menschen ein „homogenes Bewusstsein“ teilen. Darauf basierend beobachtet der Film ohne Kommentar die Ursachen des aufkommenden Nationalismus in Thailand.
Die Filmemacher drehten zwischen dem Militärputsch 2014 und dem Tod des Königs Bhumibol Adulyadej im Oktober 2016, als die Militärführer ihren Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft festigten und unzählige politische Gegner inhaftierten. In verschiedenen Episoden werden Facetten des thailändischen und buddhistisch-klerikalen Nationalismus und der grenzenlosen Königsverehrung sichtbar. Immer wieder sind es junge Männer, die in Internaten und Militärakademien für ihre zukünftigen Aufgaben gedrillt werden und in deren Erzählungen das Elend chauvinistischer und nationalistischer Ideologien sichtbar wird. Dem gegenüber stehen die Aktivistinnen der zivilgesellschaftlichen Opposition, deren Handlungsspielraum ständig kleiner wird.

THUNSKA PANSITTIVORAKUL, HARIT SRIKHAO

Thunska Pansittivorakul wurde 1973 in Bangkok, Thailand, geboren und studierte dort Kunsterziehung. Sein zweiter abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm, Happy Berry, gewann 2004 den Großen Preis des 4. Taiwan International Documentary Festival. 2007 erhielt Pansittivorakul den Silapthron Award der Abteilung Zeitgenössische Kunst des Kultusministeriums. 2012 gründete er die Produktionsfirma Sleep of Reason Films. Außerdem unterrichtet er an der Filmfakultät der Universität Bangkok. Sein erster Spielfilm, Supernatural, hatte 2014 seine Weltpremiere auf dem Filmfestival Rotterdam. Für seine beiden Dokumentarfilme sPACEtIME und Homogeneous, Empty Time arbeitete er mit Harit Srikhao zusammen.

Harit Srikhao wurde 1995 in Thailand geboren. Mit 13 Jahren fing er an, sich mit Kameras zu beschäftigen und wurde mit 16 für den Angkor Photo Workshop ausgewählt, der von Antoine D'Agata, einem renommierten französischen Fotografen, geleitet wurde. Srikhao kombiniert in seiner Fotografie, Dokumentation und Fiktion, oft zum Thema zerbrochene Kindheit. Seine Arbeiten wurden im In- und Ausland gezeigt. Für seinen Debütfilm, sPACEtIME (2015), sowie seinen neusten Dokumentarfilm Homogeneous, Empty Time arbeitete er mit Thunska Pansittivorakul zusammen.

FILMOGRAFIE

Thunska Pansittivorakul:
Voodoo Girls (2002), Happy Berry (2004), This Area Is Under Quarantine (2009), Reincarnate (2010), The Terrorists (2011), Supernatural (2014), sPACEtIME (2015), Homogeneous, Empty Time (2017)

Harit Srikhao:
sPACEtIME (2015), Homogeneous, Empty Time (2017)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Thunska Pansittivorakul, Jürgen Brüning   KAMERA: Harit Srikhao, Watcharapol Paksri, Suppakit Sritrakul, Warat Poonyasiri, Itdhi Phanmanee, Phassarawin Kulsomboon   SCHNITT: Thunska Pansittivorakul   MUSIK: Chom Chumkasian   MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Sleep of Reason Films, Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion   WELTVERTRIEB: Jürgen Brüning, Berlin Collection, Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion