Home Games

Domashni Igri

DIRECTOR(S): Alisa Kovalenko   COUNTRY: Ukraine, France, Poland   YEAR: 2018   LANGUAGES: Ukrainian   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 86 min  

SCREENINGS

Monday, 07.10., 7.00 pm, kinoeins, Q&A with Alisa Kovalenko

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Alina is 20 years old and one of the best female football players in Ukraine. If this season goes well, she’ll be taken on by the national team. But she has a difficult social and family background: Her mother is dead and her father barely around. She has to look after her two small siblings, apply for social benefits and run the family. There’s little time for football and a professional career in the national team.

Alisa Kovalenko always stays very close to her friendly protagonist. Using narrowly framed images, she observes Alina’s daily struggle, the way she cares lovingly for her siblings and the fact that whatever she does – in the end – it’s not enough, at home or on the soccer pitch. But Alina refuses to give up -no real football player ever would…

ALISA KOVALENKO

The award-winning director Alisa Kowalenko was born in 1987 in Saporischschja in the Ukraine. She studied journalism and took her diploma at the Kyiv National I.K. Karpenko-Kary Theatre, Cinema and Television University, with documentary film as her special subject. She continued her studies at the Andrzej-Wadja film school in Warsaw under the direction of Marcel Łoziński. After her first documentary, Sister Zo, Kowalenko was sucked into the commotions of the Ukrainian revolution and the war in the East of the Ukraine. She filmed on Maidan Square in Kiev and during the battle for Donetsk airport in the Donetsk basin. Her second documentary, Alisa in Warland, arose from this dilemma between the safe, observant distance of a camera and the actual participation in these events, which she was trying to process during her dramatic journey. The film premiered at the IDFA, was presented on 60 more festivals and won awards in Paris, Agadir and Mexico. Home Games is her third documentary.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Alisa Kovalenko   PRODUCER: Stephane Siohan, Maxym Vasyanovych, Valentyn Vasyanovych, Dembinski Miroslaw   CAMERA: Alisa Kovalenko, Stefan Serhiy Stetsenko   EDITOR: Olha Zhurba   MUSIC: Orianne Marsilli   CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: East Roads Films, Studio Garmata Films   WORLD SALES: Jasmina Vignjevic, Syndicado Film Sales   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Home Games

Domashni Igri

REGIE: Alisa Kovalenko   LAND: Ukraine, Frankreich, Polen   JAHR: 2018   SPRACHE(N): Ukrainisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 86 min

VORSTELLUNGEN

Montag, 07.10., 19.00 Uhr, kinoeins, in Anwesenheit von Alisa Kovalenko

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Alina ist 20 Jahre alt und eine der besten Fußballerinnen der Ukraine. Wenn diese Saison alles gut läuft, dann wartet ein Platz in der Nationalelf auf sie. Doch Alina lebt im sozialen Abseits: die Mutter ist tot, der Vater kaum anwesend. Dabei müssen die zwei kleinen Geschwister versorgt, Sozialhilfe beantragt und das gemeinsame Leben gemanagt werden. Für den geliebten Fußball und den sozialen Aufstieg, den eine Karriere in der Nationalmannschaft bringen könnte, bleibt da kaum mehr Zeit.
Alisa Kovalenko bleibt immer ganz nah dran an ihrer sympathischen Protagonistin. In eng kadrierten Bildern beobachtet sie, wie sich Alina durch den Alltag kämpft, sich liebevoll um ihre Geschwister kümmert und wie es am Ende doch immer irgendwie nicht reicht – sowohl im Alltag als auch auf dem Platz. Doch Aufgeben kommt für eine echte Fußballerin nicht in Frage …

ALISA KOVALENKO

Die mehrfach prämierte Regisseurin Alisa Kowalenko wurde 1987 in Saporischschja in der Ukraine geboren. Sie studierte zunächst Journalismus und erhielt dann ihr Abschlussdiplom an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Theater und Film Karpenko-Kary in Kiew mit dem Spezialgebiet Dokumentarfilm. Sie studierte außerdem an der Filmschule Andrzej-Wajda in Warschau unter der Leitung von Marcel Łoziński. Nach ihrem ersten Dokumentarfilm Sister Zo wurde Kowalenko in die Wirren der ukrainischen Revolution und des Krieges in der Ost-Ukraine hineingezogen. Sie filmte die Barrikaden auf dem Maidan in Kiew und die Schlacht um den Flughafen Donezk im Donbass. Ihr zweiter Dokumentarfilm, Alisa in Warland, entstand aus diesem Dilemma zwischen der beobachtenden Distanz einer Kamera und der aktiven Teilnahme an den Ereignissen, die sie während dieser Reise zu verarbeiten suchte. Der Film feierte Premiere auf dem internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestival von Amsterdam, lief auf rund 60 weiteren Festivals und gewann Preise in Paris, Agadir und in Mexiko. Home Games ist ihr dritter abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm.

FILMOGRAFIE

Sister Zo (2014), Alisa in Warland (2015), Home Games (2018)

DREHBUCH: Alisa Kovalenko   PRODUZENT_IN: Stephane Siohan, Maxym Vasyanovych, Valentyn Vasyanovych, Dembinski Miroslaw   KAMERA: Alisa Kovalenko, Stefan Serhiy Stetsenko   SCHNITT: Olha Zhurba   MUSIK: Orianne Marsilli   MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: East Roads Films, Studio Garmata Films   WELTVERTRIEB: Jasmina Vignjevic, Syndicado Film Sales   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: