Hamada

Hamada

DIRECTOR(S): Eloy Domínguez Serén   COUNTRY: Sweden, Germany, Norway   YEAR: 2018   LANGUAGES: Hassaniya, Arabic, Spanish   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 90 min  

SCREENINGS

Friday, 04.10., 2.15 pm, kommkino
Tuesday, 08.10., 8.00 pm, kommkino, Q&A with Eloy Domínguez Serén

SECTION: Internationales Forum

A minefield and the second largest military wall in the world separate Sidahmed, Zaara and Taher from their homeland that they only know from their parents’ stories. They belong to the Sahrawis, one of the world’s most forgotten people, abandoned in a refugee camp in the middle of the desert ever since Morocco drove them out of Western Sahara forty years ago.
With vitality and humor, HAMADA is the unusual portrait of a group of young friends living in a refugee camp in the stony Saharan desert. They spend their days fixing cars, even though they can’t really take them anywhere, fighting for political change and dreaming of a future that most likely will never happen. With all the expectations, strengths and illusions of being young they all find different ways to expand beyond the physical borders that surround them.

ELOY DOMÍNGUEZ SERÉN

Eloy Domínguez Serén was born in 1985 in Simes (Galicia). He studied in Salamanca, Milano and Barcelona, where he graduated in 2010. Before debuting as a filmmaker, he worked as a film critic for both radio and press, becoming a member of the Youth Jury at 67th Biennale di Venezia in 2010. In 2017, his new project Hamada was selected at the Doc Station of Berlinale and it won two awards at the Doc Outlook of Visions du Réel. Moreover, he received an invitation to participate at Berlinale Talents 2017. Hamada premiered at IDFA 2018 and has been awarded at Cinéma du Réel, Gijón International Film Festival, Tempo or Porto/Post/Doc. Along with that project, he is currently working on The Darker it Gets, a Swedish production shot in the Arctic Circle.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: David Herdies, Michael Krotkiewski   CAMERA: Eloy Domínguez Serén   EDITOR: Ana Pfaff, Eloy Domínguez Serén   MUSIC:    CAST: Zaara Mohamed Saleh, Sidahmek Salek, Taher Mulay Zain

WEBSITE
https://www.eloydseren.com/HAMADA

PRODUCTION: Momento Film   WORLD SALES: Hanne Biermann, Deckert Distribution   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Hamada

Hamada

REGIE: Eloy Domínguez Serén   LAND: Schweden, Deutschland, Norwegen   JAHR: 2018   SPRACHE(N): Hassaniya, Arabisch, Spanisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 90 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN

Freitag, 04.10., 14.15 Uhr, kommkino
Dienstag, 08.10., 20.00 Uhr, kommkino, in Anwesenheit von Eloy Domínguez Serén

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

„Was für ein Tag ist heute?“ – „Der gleiche wie gestern“. Für die drei jugendlichen Sahrauis Sidahmed, Zaara und Taher sehen alle Tage ähnlich aus und es ist diese Lakonie, die sie ihr Leben im Flüchtlingslager meistern lässt. Dieser stoische Humor ist es auch, der es einem erlaubt, in Eloy Domínguez Seréns halbdokumentarischem Coming-of-Age-Film über die Situation der jungen Generation der von Marokko vertriebenen Sahrauis zu schmunzeln, auch wenn einen die Schicksale zu Tränen rühren.

Die Perspektivlosigkeit und das Warten auf eine bessere Zukunft im Flüchtlingslager zermürben die Freund*innen. Sie wollen arbeiten, doch es gibt keine Jobs. Sie wollen Auto fahren, doch sie haben kein Geld. Und sie wollen ihre Zukunft gestalten, am liebsten mit ihren Freunden und Familien in der West-Sahara, aus der ihre Eltern vor vierzig Jahren von Marokko vertrieben wurden. Seither kämpfen die Sahrauis für ihre Rückkehr.

Ein außergewöhnlicher Film über die junge Generation eines vergessenen Volkes. Entstanden ist dieser leichtfüßige und bildstarke Film in einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Regisseurs mit seinen jungen Protagonist*innen.

https://vimeo.com/300260726

ELOY DOMÍNGUEZ SERÉN

Eloy Domínguez Serén wurde 1985 in Simes, Galizien, geboren. Er studierte in Salamance, Mailand und Barcelona, wo er 2010 sein Studium abschloss. Vor seinem Debüt als Filmemacher war er als Filmkritiker für Radio und Zeitung tätig und 2010 Teil der Jugendjury der 67. Biennale von Venedig. 2017 wurde sein Projekt Hamada auf der Doc Station der Berlinale ausgewählt und gewann zwei Preise auf dem Doc Outlook der Visions du Réel. Außerdem wurde er zu den Berlinale Talents 2017 eingeladen. Hamadas Premiere fand 2018 auf der IDFA statt, der Film wurde auf zahlreichen Festivals gezeigt, unter anderem Cinéma du Réel, Gijón International Film Festival und Tempo Film Festival.

FILMOGRAFIE

Pettring (2013), I den nya himlen (2014), Jet Lag (2014), No Cow on the Ice (2015), Yellow Brick Road (2015), Rust (2016), Hamada (2018)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: David Herdies, Michael Krotkiewski   KAMERA: Eloy Domínguez Serén   SCHNITT: Ana Pfaff, Eloy Domínguez Serén   MUSIK:    MIT: Zaara Mohamed Saleh, Sidahmek Salek, Taher Mulay Zain

WEBSITE
https://www.eloydseren.com/HAMADA

PRODUKTION: Momento Film   WELTVERTRIEB: Hanne Biermann, Deckert Distribution   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: