Django

Django

Django

DIRECTOR(S): Etienne Comar   COUNTRY: France   YEAR: 2017   LANGUAGES: German   SUBTITLES:    RUNNING TIME: 117 min  

SCREENINGS

Tuesday, 03.10., 5:15 p.m., Cinecittà

SECTION: Cinecittà

What role should an artist play in times of terror and tyranny? That's the central question of this celebrated biopic about the exceptionally gifted jazz guitarist Django Reinhardt. He faced this question when the Nazis wanted to instrumentalize his popularity during the Second World War.
Django Reinhardt's gypsy swing was very popular in occupied Paris in 1943. Even the Nazis liked him and wanted to instrumentalize his music. Django Reinhardt's popularity kept him safe while thousands of other Roma and Sinti were being persecuted and murdered across Europe. After refusing to go on a tour of Germany, he tried to escape to Switzerland with his pregnant wife and mother. They were sent back from the border. This historical biopic, which features wonderful musical and an astounding Reta Katebs in the lead role, opened this year's Berlinale.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTOyNF0pGIw

ETIENNE COMAR
After graduating from the Parisian film school La Fémis, he began working at Erato Films as a production manager on films including Boris Godunov by Andrzej Zulawski and Van Gogh by Maurice Pialat. He then produced 15 feature films with Playtime and Vendôme Production before, in 2009, moving to Arches Films to work as a screenwriter and producer on titles such as Of Gods and Men by Xavier Beauvois and My King by Maïwenn. Django is his first feature film as a director.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Etienne Comar, Alexis Salatko   PRODUCER: Marc Missonnier, Olivier Delbosc   CAMERA: Christophe Beaucarne   EDITOR: Monica Coleman   MUSIC: Warren Ellis, Django Reinhardt   CAST: Reda Kateb, Cécile de France, Beata Palya

WEBSITE
http://django-film.de/#home

PRODUCTION: Fidelite Films   WORLD SALES: Pathé International   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Weltkino Filmverleih Gmbh

Django – Ein Leben für die Musik

Django

REGIE: Etienne Comar   LAND: Frankreich   JAHR: 2017   SPRACHE(N): Französisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch   LÄNGE: 117 min

VORSTELLUNGEN

Dienstag, 03.10., 17.15 Uhr, Cinecittà

SEKTION: Cinecittà

Welche Rolle hat ein Künstler in Zeiten von Terror und Tyrannei? Diese Frage stellt das gefeierte Biopic DJANGO – EIN LEBEN FÜR DIE MUSIK, das den begnadeten Jazzgitarristen und Ausnahmekünstler Django Reinhardt portraitiert. Als sich während des 2. Weltkriegs die Nationalsozialisten seine Popularität zunutze machen wollen, steht er genau vor dieser Frage.
Django Reinhardt begeistert im besetzten Paris 1943 die Massen mit seinem „Gipsy-Swing“. Auch die Nationalsozialisten finden an ihm Gefallen und wollen seine Musik für ihre Zwecke nutzen. Während Tausende anderer Sinti und Roma in Europa verfolgt und ermordet werden, kann sich Django Reinhardt aufgrund seiner Popularität in Sicherheit wiegen. Als er zu Propagandazwecken nach Deutschland auf Tournee gehen soll, weigert er sich, taucht unter und flieht mit seiner schwangeren Frau und seiner Mutter. Bei dem Versuch in die Schweiz zu gelangen, wird er aber an der Grenze zurückgewiesen. DJANGO – EIN LEBEN FÜR DIE MUSIK ist ein historisches Biopic mit musikalischen Leckerbissen, das durch das herausragende Spiel Reta Katebs in der Hauptrolle besticht und dieses Jahr die Berlinale eröffnete.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTOyNF0pGIw

ETIENNE COMAR
Nach seinem Abschluss an der Pariser Filmhochschule La Fémis arbeitete Comar zunächst als Produktionsleiter bei Erato Films, unter anderem bei Andrzej Zulawskis Boris Godunov und Maurice Pialats Van Gogh. Mit den Firmen Playtime und Vendôme Production produzierte er 15 Spielfilme, bevor er ab 2009 begann, für die Firma Arches Films zu produzieren und auch an Drehbüchern zu arbeiten, unter anderem an Xavier Beauvois’ Von Menschen und Göttern und Maïwenns Mein Ein, mein Alles. Mit Django legt Comar sein Debüt als Regisseur vor.

FILMOGRAFIE
Django (2017)

DREHBUCH: Etienne Comar, Alexis Salatko   PRODUZENT_IN: Marc Missonnier, Olivier Delbosc   KAMERA: Christophe Beaucarne   SCHNITT: Monica Coleman   MUSIK: Warren Ellis, Django Reinhardt   MIT: Reda Kateb, Cécile de France, Beata Palya

WEBSITE
http://django-film.de/#home

PRODUKTION: Fidelite Films   WELTVERTRIEB: Pathé International   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Weltkino Filmverleih Gmbh