City of Jade

City of Jade

Fei cui zhi cheng

DIRECTOR(S): Midi Z   COUNTRY: Taiwan, Myanmar [Burma]   YEAR: 2016   LANGUAGES: Burmese   SUBTITLES: English   RUNNING TIME: 99 min  

SCREENINGS
Sunday, 01.10., 9:00 p.m., kinoeins
Tuesday, 03.10., 1:30 p.m., kinoeins

SECTION: Internationales Forum

Currently, Burma is undergoing some form of democratisation, however, it is not a linear process in terms of time. As the war between the government and the Kachin Independence Army (KIA) is still going, the corporations are forced to halt their operation in the jade mines. Time seems to have frozen in this war zone while waves of poor workers flock to the area. Carrying simple digging tools, they arrive in this paradise, dreaming of getting rich overnight; none of them has ever woken from that dream.
Maybe we should rewind the time back to sixteen years ago. Rumour had it that Midi’s brother found a piece of valuable jade in the paradise while his family was down to their last penny. On behalf of their parents, Midi, the youngest child in the family, wrote more than a hundred letters to his elder brother, asking him to send money home, but they never heard anything from him. It turned out that his elder brother not only spent all his money on his way home but got arrested and sent to jail for drug abuse. His hard-earned cash was squandered just like that, and Midi never forgave his brother. Later as fortune smiled on Midi, he left his home as well as poverty behind and arrived in Taiwan for his studies, learning to become a man of rational thinking.

MIDI Z
Midi Z was born in 1982 in Burma. He moved to Taiwan when he was 16 and studied Film Directing. In 2009, he was named one of the most prominent directors by the Taipei Golden Horse Film Academy. His debut feature film Return to Burma premiered at the Rotterdam International Film Festivalin 2012 where he returned in 2014 with The Palace on the Sea. His Ice Poison represented Taiwan at the Foreign Language Oscars. With Jade Miners he started to explore documentary film making as well and has garnered international praise both for his fiction and documentary work.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Midi Z, Wu Pei-chi   PRODUCER: Isabella Ho, Hsing-Hung Wang, Wang Shin-hong, Lin Sheng-wen, Midi Z   CAMERA: Midi Z, Wang Fu-ang   EDITOR: Midi Z   MUSIC: Lim Giong   CAST:

WEBSITE

PRODUCTION: Myanmar Montage Productions, Seashore Image Productions Co., Ltd.   WORLD SALES: Midi Z, Seashore Image Productions Co., Ltd.   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

City of Jade

Fei cui zhi cheng

REGIE: Midi Z   LAND: Taiwan, Myanmar   JAHR: 2016   SPRACHE(N): Birmanisch   UNTERTITEL: Englisch   LÄNGE: 99 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Sonntag, 01.10., 21.00 Uhr, kinoeins
Dienstag, 03.10., 13.30 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationales Forum

Midi Z begibt sich auf eine persönliche Reise tief in die birmanischen Jademinen, um seinem Bruder näher zu kommen. Nach Jahren im Gefängnis macht dieser sich auf um illegal nach Jade zu schürfen. Inmitten einer fantastischen Mondlandschaft entspinnt sich dabei ein spannendes Bruderdrama zwischen dem Glücksritter und dem Filmemacher, im Schatten des Bürgerkriegs. Ein eindrückliches Familienschicksal, das Midi Z im Kontext Birmas bewegender Geschichte aufarbeitet und gleichzeitig die Arbeitsbedingungen in den Minen bildgewaltig offenlegt.
Hoch im Norden Birmas liegen die Jademinen. Doch es herrscht Bürgerkrieg und die Minen wurden zum Sperrgebiet erklärt: Gelegenheit für unzählige Männer, um auf eigene Faust einen Jadebrocken zu finden, der ihr Leben verändern soll. Midi Z nähert sich dem Thema über seinen Bruder – ein Kleinkrimineller und Möchtegern-Boss, der bald seine ehemaligen Kumpane nachholt und opiumkauend vom großen Glück träumt. Mit Witz, Verstand und einer erlesenen Kamerarbeit unternimmt Midi Z hier einen filmischen Annäherungsversuch an den Bruder, der die Familie früh verließ, und dokumentiert zugleich die faszinierende Welt der Jademinen, in der schroffe Abhänge zu jadefarbenen Seen führen.


MIDI Z
Midi Z wurde 1982 in Birma geboren und zog im Alter von 16 Jahren nach Taiwan, wo er Regie studierte. 2009 ernannte ihn die Taipei Golden Horse Film Academy zu einem der wichtigsten Regisseure. Sein Spielfilmdebüt feierte seine Premiere beim Internationalen Filmfestival von Rotterdam, ebenso wie The Palace on the Sea 2014. Midi Zs Ice Poison wurde als thailändischer Beitrag für den Oscar als Bester Fremdsprachiger Film nominiert 2015. Mit Jade Miners begann er auch dokumentarisch zu arbeiten und ist in dieser Gattung genauso international erfolgreich wie mit seinen Spielfilmen.

FILMOGRAFIE
Return to Burma (2011), Poor Folks (2012), Ice Poison (2014), Jade Miners (2015), The Road to Mandalay (2016), City of Jade (2016)

DREHBUCH: Midi Z, Wu Pei-chi   PRODUZENT_IN: Isabella Ho, Hsing-Hung Wang, Wang Shin-hong, Lin Sheng-wen, Midi Z   KAMERA: Midi Z, Wang Fu-ang   SCHNITT: Midi Z   MUSIK: Lim Giong   MIT:

WEBSITE

PRODUKTION: Myanmar Montage Productions, Seashore Image Productions Co., Ltd.   WELTVERTRIEB: Midi Z, Seashore Image Productions Co., Ltd.   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: