Chez Jolie Coiffure

Chez Jolie Coiffure

DIRECTOR(S): Rosine Mbakam   COUNTRY: Belgium   YEAR: 2018   LANGUAGES: French   SUBTITLES: German, English   RUNNING TIME: 70 min  

SCREENINGS
Saturday, 05.10., 9.45 pm, kinoeins
Sunday, 06.10., 3.15 pm, kommkino, Q&A with Rosine Mbakam

SECTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

Sabine runs a hair salon in the middle of Matongé, a largely African district in Brussels. Her long working days are filled with talk about the latest styles and gossip, as well as the advice that Sabine gives willingly, without always being asked. Rosine Mbakam’s camera is right there, barely leaving the salon, and filming Sabine as she braids and braids and braids.

Using the numerous mirrors of the salon, Mbakam creates a puzzle with each take that transforms the small space and captures a microcosm of the African diaspora. The documentary takes on the slow-paced casual tempo of the salon. The exterior world only enters via the soundtrack and in the form of an offal salesman named Mr Gizzard who keeps coming. The windows create a natural, semi-permeable barrier between those in the salon and passers-by and members of the white majority who come to gawk. Like most of her customers, Sabine does not have official documents, so there is a constant sense of danger and risk of raids. But Jolie Coiffure is a home away from home, at least for a few hours every day.

ROSINE MBAKAM

Rosine Mfetgo Mbakam grew up in Cameroon. In 2007 she left Cameroon and enrolled in Brussels for a training course at INSAS. Her diploma in hand, she finished her first short film You Will be My Ally and co-realized a portrait of the Congolese artist Freddy Tsimba Mavambu with Mirko Popovitch for the ASBL AFRICALIA. In 2014, she founded Tandor Productions with Geoffroy Cernaix and directed The Two Faces of a Bamileke Woman, her first documentary released on screen in 2017.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT:    PRODUCER: Geoffroy Cernaix, Rosine Mbakam   CAMERA: Rosine Mbakam   EDITOR: Geoffroy Cernaix   MUSIC:    CAST:

WEBSITE
http://tandorproductions.com

PRODUCTION: T├óndor productions    WORLD SALES: Thierry Detaille, Visible Film   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR:

Chez Jolie Coiffure

Chez Jolie Coiffure

REGIE: Rosine Mbakam   LAND: Belgien   JAHR: 2018   SPRACHE(N): Französisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch, Englisch   LÄNGE: 70 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Samstag, 05.10., 21.45 Uhr, kinoeins
Sonntag, 06.10., 15.15 Uhr, kommkino, in Anwesenheit von Rosine Mbakam

SEKTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

Mitten in Matongé, dem afrikanischen Viertel Brüssels, betreibt die Kamerunerin Sabine einen Haarsalon. Die langen Arbeitstage fließen dahin zwischen den aktuellsten Haartrends, dem neuesten Klatsch und Tratsch und konkreter Lebenshilfe, die Sabine gerne und auch ungefragt erteilt. Rosine Mbakams Kamera ist dabei immer mittendrin. Sie verlässt den winzigen Laden so gut wie nie und filmt Sabine, wie sie flicht und flicht und flicht.

Durch die unzähligen Spiegel des Salons schafft Mbakam mit jeder Einstellung ein Vexierspiel, das den kleinen Raum in einen Mikrokosmos der afrikanischen Diaspora verwandelt. Der Dokumentarfilm schließt sich dabei wunderbar dem beiläufigen, langsamen Tempo des Salons an. Die Außenwelt dringt meist nur über den Ton in den Salon ein und in Form des immer wiederkehrenden Gizzard-Verkäufers. Die Schaufensterscheibe schafft hier eine natürliche, aber halbdurchlässige Barriere für Passanten und die weiße Mehrheitsgesellschaft, die immer wieder zum Glotzen kommt. Wie die meisten ihrer Kundinnen hat auch Sabine keine gültigen Papiere – so bleibt die Welt vor dem Laden gefährlich und Razzien drohen. Doch im Jolie Coiffure entsteht jeden Tag für ein paar Stunden eine Heimat fern der Heimat.

ROSINE MBAKAM

Rosine Mfetgo Mbakam wuchs in Kamerun auf. 2007 verließ sie Kamerun und schrieb sich für einen Kurs am INSAS in Brüssel ein. Nach ihrem Abschluss stellte sie ihren ersten Kurzfilm, You will be my ally, fertig und erarbeitete gemeinsam mit Mirko Popovitch ein Porträt des kongolesischen Künstlers Freddy Tsimba, Mavambu, für das ASBL AFRICALIA. 2014 gründete sie mit Geoffroy Cernaix die Firma Tandor Productions und führte Regie bei The Two Faces of a Bamileke Woman, ihrer ersten Dokumentation, welche 2017 veröffentlicht wurde.

FILMOGRAFIE

Mavambu (2012), You Will be my Ally (2012), Les portes du passé (2013), Les deux visages d'une femme Bamiléké (2018), Chez jolie coiffure (2018)

DREHBUCH:    PRODUZENT_IN: Geoffroy Cernaix, Rosine Mbakam   KAMERA: Rosine Mbakam   SCHNITT: Geoffroy Cernaix   MUSIK:    MIT:

WEBSITE
http://tandorproductions.com

PRODUKTION: Tândor productions    WELTVERTRIEB: Thierry Detaille, Visible Film   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: