Angelo

Angelo

DIRECTOR(S): Markus Schleinzer   COUNTRY: Austria   YEAR: 2018   LANGUAGES: German, French   SUBTITLES: German, English   RUNNING TIME: 110 min  

SCREENINGS
Thursday, 03.10., 6.45 pm, kommkino,
Saturday, 05.10., 1.45 pm, kinoeins

SECTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

Taken captive and brought to Europe as a child, Angelo received the education of an aristocrat and considered an exotic gem. Later, he entered Viennese society, which tolerated him discreetly but never accepted him as an equal member. This film is about colonial history and about the appropriation of body and mind. It is about interpretation and the chronology of a silencing.

Angelo Soliman (1721–1796) is a mysterious figure of Viennese history. He was first sold into slavery and put on display as part of a traveling collection, before becoming a valet and a Freemason. After he died, he was embalmed and exhibited once again as part of a cabinet of curiosities. Markus Schleinzer arranges his tableaux very carefully and depicts the life and loneliness of a man and the narrow confines of 18th-century Viennese society. From time to time, he departs from the biopic framework to discuss questions of identity, agency and the legacy of colonialism.

What's it like, being abducted from your own country at the age of five or six? […] What does it mean, not meeting anyone who is like you for a very long time? At what point did Angelo let it slip his mind that he was different? How long is it possible to carry on like that? When do you start yearning to merge with the others around you? […] Essentially Angelo was an actor; if you can believe his first biographer, who wrote his life story 60 years after his death, then he himself contributed a great deal to the fairy tales that grew up around him.” (Markus Schleinzer)

MARKUS SCHLEINZER

Markus Schleinzer was born in Vienna in 1971. Between 1994 and 2010, he worked as a casting director for over 70 film productions and was highly involved in the making of Jessica Hausner, Ulrich Seidl and Michael Haneke films. Additionally, he starred in several films, TV-Shows or theatre productions. He especially received great critiques for his performances in Benjamin Heisenbergs Der Räuber (2010) and Stephan Richters Einer von uns (2015). While shooting Hanekes Das weisse Band in 2008 he also coached the children among the cast members. In the end, he not only prepared them for their scenes, but worked with them on set as well. This experience made him want to become a filmmaker himself. His provocative debut as an author and director, Michael, premiered in 2011 in the competition of the Festival de Cannes. The film was sold to numerous territories and received prizes all over the world.

FILMOGRAPHY

SCRIPT: Markus Schleinzer, Alexander Brom   PRODUCER: Alexander Glehr, Franz Novotny   CAMERA: Gerald Kerkletz   EDITOR: Pia Dumont   MUSIC:    CAST: Makita Samba, Alba Rohrwacher, Larisa Faber, Gerti Drassl, Michael Rotschopf

WEBSITE
http://www.grandfilm.de/angelo

PRODUCTION: Film AG   WORLD SALES: Joris Boyer, Playtime   GERMAN DISTRIBUTOR: Patrick Horn, Grandfilm

Angelo

Angelo

REGIE: Markus Schleinzer   LAND: Österreich   JAHR: 2018   SPRACHE(N): Deutsch, Französisch   UNTERTITEL: Deutsch, Englisch   LÄNGE: 110 min  

VORSTELLUNGEN
Donnerstag, 03.10., 18.45 Uhr, kommkino,
Samstag, 05.10., 13.45 Uhr, kinoeins

SEKTION: Internationaler Wettbewerb

Als kleiner Junge aus Afrika nach Europa verschleppt, als exotisches Kleinod mit höfischer Erziehung versehen, macht Angelo seinen Weg in der Wiener Gesellschaft, die ihn nach Belieben wahrnimmt, ohne ihn je dazugehören zu lassen. ANGELO erzählt Kolonialgeschichte, körperliche und geistige Vereinnahmung. Ein Film über Deutungshoheiten und die Chronologie eines Verstummens.

Angelo Soliman (1721 – 1796), rätselhafte Figur der Wiener Stadtgeschichte, einst als Kindersklave gekauft, später Kammerdiener, als exotischer Besitz herumgereicht, Freimaurer, nach seinem Tod präpariertes Ausstellungsobjekt – und ein Teil europäischer Geschichte. Markus Schleinzer nähert sich ihm und der Wiener Gesellschaft des 18. Jahrhunderts in sorgfältig kadrierten Tableaus, die dem Publikum Angelos Einsamkeit und die Enge der Gesellschaft vor Augen führen. Dabei verlässt er immer wieder den Rahmen eines klassischen Biopics und diskutiert Fragen der Identität, der Zuschreibung – und des Erbes des Kolonialismus.

„Wie ist es, wenn man mit fünf, sechs Jahren seiner Heimat beraubt wird? Was bedeutet es, für ganz lange Zeit niemandem zu begegnen, der dir gleich ist? Wann hat Angelo wohl aufgehört, sich selbst in seiner Andersartigkeit zu vergessen? Wann wünscht man sich, sich im Gegenüber aufzulösen? Wenn man der ersten Biografin Glauben schenken darf, die sich 60 Jahre nach seinem Tod über dessen Lebensgeschichte gewagt hat, war Angelo im Grunde Schauspieler, dann hat er selbst sehr viel zu den Märchen, die sich um ihn ranken, beigetragen.“ (Markus Schleinzer)

MARKUS SCHLEINZER

Markus Schleinzer wurde 1971 in Wien geboren. Als Casting-Direktor wirkte er von 1994 bis 2010 an über 70 Kinoproduktionen mit und war u.a. bei mehreren Filmen von Jessica Hausner, Ulrich Seidl und Michael Haneke eng an der Produktion beteiligt. Zwischendurch war er immer wieder selbst in Film, Fernsehen und Theater als Schauspieler tätig. Besonders seine Darstellungen in Der Räuber (2010) von Benjamin Heisenberg und Einer von uns (2015) von Stephan Richter brachten ihm viel Kritikerlob ein. Als er 2008 am Cast für Hanekes Das weisse Band arbeitete, wurde er als Schauspiel-Coach für die Kinderdarsteller eingesetzt. Schließlich bereitete er die Darsteller nicht nur auf die Szenen vor, sondern arbeitete auch am Set mit ihnen. Aus dieser Erfahrung heraus beschloss er, selbst Filmemacher zu werden. Sein provokantes Spielfilmdebüt als Autor und Regisseur, Michael, hatte seine Premiere im Wettbewerb der Filmfestspiele in Cannes 2011. Der Film wurde in zahlreiche Territorien verkauft und weltweit mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

FILMOGRAFIE

Michael (2011), Angelo (2018)

DREHBUCH: Markus Schleinzer, Alexander Brom   PRODUZENT_IN: Alexander Glehr, Franz Novotny   KAMERA: Gerald Kerkletz   SCHNITT: Pia Dumont   MUSIK:    MIT: Makita Samba, Alba Rohrwacher, Larisa Faber, Gerti Drassl, Michael Rotschopf

WEBSITE
http://www.grandfilm.de/angelo

PRODUKTION: Film AG   WELTVERTRIEB: Joris Boyer, Playtime   DEUTSCHER VERLEIH: Patrick Horn, Grandfilm